 we discussed the 3 categories of the sacraments  sacraments of initiation  sacraments of...

Download  We discussed the 3 categories of the sacraments  Sacraments of Initiation  Sacraments of Healing  Sacraments at the Service of Communion

Post on 19-Jan-2016




2 download

Embed Size (px)


Chapter 7: RCIA: A Community Affair

Chapter 7: RCIA: A Community AffairLast timeWe discussed the 3 categories of the sacramentsSacraments of InitiationSacraments of HealingSacraments at the Service of Communion Today we will look at the process of RCIARCIA stands for Rite of Christian Initiation of AdultsThis program is for anyone age seven or older who has not been baptized.This rite involves the Sacraments of InitiationWords to KnowMystagogyThe last stage of the RCIA in which the newly initiated reflect on the deep meaning of the sacraments they have celebrated and on living the Christian life fully.CatechumenA person preparing to become a member of the faith community.ElectThose who are formally called to the Sacraments of Initiation during the Rite of EnrollmentExorcismPrayers against the evil spirit that teach us the mystery of sin and how Christ the Redeemer has saved us

Rite of EnrollmentThe ceremony in which catechumens become the electScrutiniesPetitions and exorcisms that strengthen the catechumens in their decision to live for ChristSponsor The person who assists the catechumen in his or her journey of faithSee p. 47Christian Initiation 3 steps of InitiationCATECHUMENATE


INITIATIONThe symbols of RCIAWater

White Robe

The symbols of RCIACandle


The symbols of RCIABread


See chart p. 161(Sacraments of Initiation)


View more >