applying seo & startup tactics to book marketing
TRANSCRIPT
![Page 1: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/1.jpg)
Rand Fishkin, Wizard of Moz | @randfish | [email protected]
Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to
Book Marketing
![Page 2: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/2.jpg)
Slides online atbit.ly/mozbookmarketing
![Page 3: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/3.jpg)
Why Does Search Matter to Authors?
![Page 4: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/4.jpg)
More recent data is hard to come by, but it’s
probable that 50%+ of book sales happen
online, and many offline purchases are
influenced by online exposure.
Via DBW/Bowker
![Page 7: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/7.jpg)
Via SimilarWeb
In ecommerce, search is the traffic referral leader
![Page 8: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/8.jpg)
TheStartup Marketing Model
![Page 9: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/9.jpg)
![Page 10: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/10.jpg)
Identify Right Customers
![Page 12: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/12.jpg)
Who are they?
![Page 13: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/13.jpg)
What social networks do they use?
![Page 15: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/15.jpg)
Who are their influencers?
![Page 16: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/16.jpg)
Not Into Tools?
Can’t Find Your Audience on Social?
Have Conversations!
So… What kinda sites do you dogs visit?
![Page 17: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/17.jpg)
Target the Right Audiencein the Right Places
![Page 18: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/18.jpg)
Your Audienceis Already
Spending Time at These Places:
Via SimilarWeb’s Top Sites
![Page 19: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/19.jpg)
You Can Leverage thatAttention by Contributing to…
![Page 20: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/20.jpg)
Massive Networks Like Facebook
Via TheFinancialBrand Via SearchEngineLand
Although we’ve seen organic reach dipping for years, there’s been a resurgence thanks to
audience optimization
![Page 23: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/23.jpg)
Professional Networks Like LinkedIn
We’ve seen a recent rise in engagement and CTR on LinkedIn for the right
kinds of content
![Page 24: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/24.jpg)
An Important Note on Social Networks--
Signal:Noise Ratio is Critical to Reach
Because this post didn’t do well, Facebook won’t show my next few
posts to as many users
![Page 30: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/30.jpg)
Book-Centric Sites Like GoodReads
Via Norwegian by Nighton Goodreads
![Page 31: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/31.jpg)
Publishers that Accept Guest Contributions Like Good Housekeeping
Via Good Housekeeping
![Page 32: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/32.jpg)
Targeting Your Audiencewith Paid Advertising
![Page 33: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/33.jpg)
Ad Click-Through-Rates Are Abominable
Via SearchEngineLand
![Page 34: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/34.jpg)
Half of All Mobile Ad Clicks are Accidental
Via SearchEngineLand
![Page 35: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/35.jpg)
But, Ads are Getting Far More Sophisticated
Via Sovrn
![Page 36: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/36.jpg)
And even though we don’t think they influence us, they do
Via Harvard Business Review
![Page 37: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/37.jpg)
The Key to Ad Buying is ROI
$0.25 / Click X 200 Visits $50 Total Ad Spend=
200 Visits X 5 Sales = 2.5% Conversion Rate
$50 ÷ 5 Sales = $10 Cost of Acquiring a Customer (CAC)
You want this figure to be less than you make per sale
![Page 38: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/38.jpg)
Facebook Ads
![Page 39: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/39.jpg)
Google AdWords
![Page 40: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/40.jpg)
Google Shopping Ads
![Page 41: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/41.jpg)
Retargeting (Google, AdRoll)
More on Whiteboard Friday
e.g. I visited Squarespace while building this slide deck, and now their ads follow me around
the web like a lost puppy dog
![Page 42: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/42.jpg)
Twitter Ads
Via NYTimes
![Page 43: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/43.jpg)
Instagram Ads
Good Guide to Instagram Ads from AdEspresso
![Page 44: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/44.jpg)
Pinterest Ads
![Page 45: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/45.jpg)
Google Display Ads
![Page 47: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/47.jpg)
Sponsored Content (Outbrain, Taboola)
![Page 48: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/48.jpg)
If You Have Email Addresses,You Can Also Use:
![Page 50: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/50.jpg)
Google AdWords’ Customer Match
Via SearchEngineLand
![Page 51: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/51.jpg)
Newsletters & Book Announcements
Via Dan Ariely (author of Predictably Irrational)
![Page 52: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/52.jpg)
Good, Free Mailing List Options:
Mailchimp:Free to 2,000 subscribers or 12,000 emails/month, great deliverability
Newsletter for WP:Requires a bit of installation, but free to unlimited numbers of subscribers
Benchmark Email:Free to 2,000 subscribers or 14,000 emails/month, easy UI
![Page 53: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/53.jpg)
Attract an Audienceto Your Platform
![Page 54: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/54.jpg)
Is your publishing platform holding you back?
Sometimes, content isn’t the problem.
![Page 55: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/55.jpg)
SEO-friendly access for crawlers and searchers
Great user experience on every device
Compelling reasons to subscribe, share, & return
Freedom from features that would annoy or dissuade visitors
Content that’s consistently interesting, useful, and/or engaging to a distinct audience
Does My Publishing Platform Provide:
![Page 56: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/56.jpg)
Platforms to Consider Include:
Wordpress:Free, extensible, powerful, has lots of plugins & developers
Wix:Easy templates, good support, strong designs, inexpensive
Squarespace:Solid templates, easy to manage, inexpensive,
![Page 58: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/58.jpg)
I’m a Big Fan of Jane Friedman’s Advice on Author
Websites:
Via JaneFriedman
![Page 59: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/59.jpg)
How do you build a platform that consistently attracts your
audience?
![Page 60: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/60.jpg)
Publish web content
Amplify
Grow networkIncrease ability to rank in
search engines
Increase brand recognition
Learn & iterate on amplification tactics
Earn ongoing search traffic
![Page 61: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/61.jpg)
Content Can Mean Many Things
![Page 63: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/63.jpg)
Animations
Via BusinessInsider
![Page 68: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/68.jpg)
For Most Writers,
It Means Written Content
![Page 71: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/71.jpg)
Opinion Pieces
Via The New Yorker
![Page 72: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/72.jpg)
Whitepapers
Via PricewaterhouseCoopers
![Page 73: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/73.jpg)
Stories Via Radio Times
![Page 74: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/74.jpg)
Maybe a Little Bit of Promotion
Via Neil Gaiman
![Page 75: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/75.jpg)
But (if you want to build a marketing flywheel)
that can’t be your entire platform
Via Rachael King
I loved Rachael’s site, but there’s no flywheel happening, just promotion of her books and
events.
![Page 76: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/76.jpg)
Content Forms the Backbone of What Gets Distributed on the Web
Via Buzzsumo
![Page 77: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/77.jpg)
It’s What Gets Shared on Facebook
Via Rand’s Facebook Page
![Page 78: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/78.jpg)
What Ranks in Google
![Page 79: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/79.jpg)
What Makes for Conversations on Twitter
Via Medium
![Page 81: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/81.jpg)
What’s Posted on LinkedIn, Google+, Snapchat, and Instagram
![Page 82: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/82.jpg)
But, Content Only Matters If It’s Seen
Via Buzzsumo
![Page 83: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/83.jpg)
It’s Often the Same Effort to Make
Content No One Sees,
As Content Thousands Do
![Page 84: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/84.jpg)
Who will help amplify thisand why?
Start With a Great Answer to the Question:
![Page 85: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/85.jpg)
This is not a right answer:
Museum goers will love this.
And maybe museum curators, too.
Via MattKelm
![Page 86: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/86.jpg)
This is a right answer:I did an analysis of all
the recent major museum thefts
Carolyn & Shelley have already expressed interest in
seeing the finished piece
![Page 87: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/87.jpg)
SEO Best Practices
Earn Ongoing Traffic by Leveraging
![Page 88: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/88.jpg)
Accessibility is Critical
Via the YouMoz Blog
![Page 90: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/90.jpg)
Google Search Console Can
Highlight Many Problems
Via Google Search Console
![Page 91: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/91.jpg)
Moz, ScreamingFrog, or OnPage.org Can Also Be Useful for Crawl Issues
Via Moz Pro, Screaming Frog Crawler, and OnPage.org
![Page 92: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/92.jpg)
Keywords Still Matter
![Page 93: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/93.jpg)
And Google is Smart About Matching Concepts & Topics to Keywords
![Page 94: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/94.jpg)
Titles and Headlines?Still Important.
Page titles come from the HTML code, and (usually) appear as the headline of
the piece.
![Page 95: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/95.jpg)
The Search Snippet? Still Important.Does the title match what
searchers want?Does the URL seem
compelling?
Does your site sound trustworthy or sketchy?
Is your result fresh? Do searchers want a newer
result?
Does the description create curiosity & entice
a click?
Do you get the brand dropdown?
![Page 96: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/96.jpg)
Meta Keywords? Useless.
Via Google’s Webmaster Central Blog
![Page 97: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/97.jpg)
Keyword Stuffing? Will Only Hurt You.
No one wants to click on a page like that
(and Google penalizes these types of pages)
![Page 98: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/98.jpg)
Links Still Matter
Via Moz’s 2015 Ranking Factors
Link-based ranking factors
![Page 99: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/99.jpg)
Ask: Who WillLink to Me & Why?
All these websites (and ~450 others) link to StopYoureKillingMe.com
![Page 100: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/100.jpg)
Stumped?Check Out 100s of Techniques on the
Moz Blog
Via Link Building on Moz
![Page 101: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/101.jpg)
User Satisfaction Matters
If Google observes many searchers clicking this result, visiting the page, then bouncing back to the search results and,
instead…
Clicking this page, and seeming satisfied with those results…
It’s very likely that, over time, KirkusReviews will outrank WaPo here.
![Page 102: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/102.jpg)
Google Calls This Pogo-Sticking
Via Bill Slawski on Moz
![Page 103: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/103.jpg)
Make the Back Button Your Enemy
NPR’s clean design, well-respected brand, options for listening or reading,
solid visuals, and quality writing compel me to want to stay.
If only they’d used good keywords in their title, they’d probably be on page 1
![Page 104: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/104.jpg)
DO NOT Split Up Your Content & Promotional Sites
Tragically, Rachael is likely costing herself valuable branding and lots of lost search traffic by having two separate sites.
Via Rachael-King.com and SoundofButterflies.Blogspot.com
![Page 105: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/105.jpg)
Consider Which Page You Want Ranking for Your Book
IMO, Kate Beaton has this right. Get your own site ranking at the top, rather than
Amazon, because then you control the user experience (and can use an Amazon affiliate link to get greater revenue from your sales)
![Page 106: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/106.jpg)
You Control Much of This Through How You/Your Publisher Choose to Link in Press & Bios
![Page 107: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/107.jpg)
More About SEO:
Prefer text + visuals?See Moz’s Beginner’s Guide to SEO
Prefer video?See Skillshare’s SEO that Matters class
![Page 108: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/108.jpg)
Use Data to Learn What Works vs. Doesn’t
![Page 109: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/109.jpg)
Google Analytics
Looking at “site content” (under “behavior”) can show you which
pages are attracting and engaging visitors, and which ones aren’t.
![Page 110: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/110.jpg)
Jetpack
A popular alternative to Google Analytics, many
site owners appreciate the simpler, more intuitive
reports despite fewer bells & whistles.
Via Jetpack Stats
![Page 111: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/111.jpg)
Bit.ly
I track all my content that I share to get a sense of what
works, and where it performs best
![Page 112: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/112.jpg)
A Neat Hack You Can Do with Bit.lyJust add a + to the end of any bitly URL:
http://responsivecitypress+
![Page 113: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/113.jpg)
Buzzsumo
Buzzsumo is invaluable for seeing content on any topic or from any site that’s
performed well on social networks
Via Buzzsumo Pro
![Page 114: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/114.jpg)
ConvertingVisitors to Buyers
![Page 115: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/115.jpg)
We need to identify the traits that separate customers who’ll buy, love, and amplify our books from those who won’t.
![Page 116: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/116.jpg)
My Favorite Process:
From Conversion Rate Experts’ case study
Boom.
And Shakalaka.
![Page 117: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/117.jpg)
Haven’t heard of the book
Heard of it, but didn’t buy
Bought, read, & loved the book
What do you think the book is about?
How’d you hear about the book?
What first made you interested?
What would make you more likely to check it out?
What are your biggest objections to purchase?
What objections did you have to buying?
What would have made you change your mind?
What objections did you have and how did you
overcome them?
What did you love most about it?
Can we share your story as a testimonial?
![Page 118: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/118.jpg)
Create Messages and Sales Pages that Overcome Your Target Audience’s
Objections
Benefits that speak to Nir’s audience
Authorities that Nir’s audience knows, likes, and trusts
Multiple ways to get the book, even for non-readers
Via Nir Eyal
![Page 119: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/119.jpg)
Use These Messages on Your Amazon and Publisher Pages, Too!
Via Hooked on Amazon
The same messages and editorial reviews work here, too
![Page 120: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/120.jpg)
Retain, Delight, & Grow Amplification
![Page 121: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/121.jpg)
How do you know what to create?
Or where to invest?
![Page 122: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/122.jpg)
What do you hate doing?
Via Tech Noir
![Page 124: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/124.jpg)
What skill, talent, or creation can set you apart from the crowd?
Via Rand’s Blog
One of my strengths is an ability to be
contrarian, and to create homemade
graphics that convey those opinions
![Page 125: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/125.jpg)
![Page 126: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/126.jpg)
Improving the flywheel is an iterative learning process
No one starts out great at this.
![Page 128: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/128.jpg)
Geraldine started the website in 2009
![Page 129: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/129.jpg)
For 2 years, she rarely broke 100 visits/day
![Page 130: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/130.jpg)
She had a few successes
![Page 131: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/131.jpg)
But traffic fell back down after these viral spikes
![Page 132: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/132.jpg)
In Jan. 2012, she was featured on Time’s “Best Blogs” list. Readers came by the thousands, and many stuck.
![Page 133: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/133.jpg)
These days, she consistently breaks 100K visits/month(even when she took time off to write her book).
![Page 134: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/134.jpg)
Thanks to the audience she built and the flywheel of her blog’s content & distribution channels, Geraldine’s got a great
opportunity to publish and market her work.
![Page 135: Applying SEO & Startup Tactics to Book Marketing](https://reader036.vdocuments.net/reader036/viewer/2022070520/58f9c24d760da32f4b8b65ad/html5/thumbnails/135.jpg)
Failure + Learningx Time = Success