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Section 19.1 Advertising Media Chapter 19 advertising Section 19.2 Media Rates

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Section 19.1Advertising Media

Chapter 19

advertising

Section 19.2Media Rates

CONNECT What effective advertisements have you seen recently?

Advertising Media

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9.1

• Explain the concept and purpose of advertising in the promotional mix.

• Identify the different types of advertising media.

• Discuss the planning and selection of media.

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9.1

Advertising Media

Advertising is an important element of

promotion.

Businesses advertise to promote their ideas,

goods, and services.

Advertising Media

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9.1

Advertising Media

Types of Media Used for AdvertisingS

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Advertising Media

Getting Ready to Sell

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9.1

advertisingA form of non-personal promotion in which companies pay to promote ideas, goods, or services in a variety of media outlets.

The average city dweller is exposed to more than 3,000 advertising

messages every day.

Advertising Media

Getting Ready to Sell

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9.1

promotional advertisingAdvertising designed to increase sales.

PromotionalAdvertising

InstitutionalAdvertising

institutional advertisingAdvertising designed to create a favorable image for a company and foster goodwill in the marketplace.

Advertising Media

Getting Ready to Sell

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9.1

Mass advertising enables companies to reach large numbers

of people with their messages.

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

mediaThe agencies, means, or instruments used to convey messages to the public.

What is media?

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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print mediaAdvertising in newspapers, magazines, direct mail, signs, and billboards.

Print Media

NewspaperAdvertising

MagazineAdvertising

Direct-MailAdvertising

DirectoryAdvertising

OutdoorAdvertising

TransitAdvertising

transit advertisingAdvertisement seen on public transportation.

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

Advantages and Disadvantages of Newspaper Advertising

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

Advantages and Disadvantages of Newspaper Advertising

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Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

broadcast mediaRadio and television.

Broadcast Media

Television Advertising Radio AdvertisingCompanies can advertise nationally on network television or on local television

stations.

Radio advertisers can carefully target their audiences when they select the

station on which to broadcast their ads.

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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Internet advertisingThe form of advertising that uses either e-mail or the World Wide Web.

Opt-InE-Mail Ads

Banner and Search Engine Ads

Rich-Media andVideo Ads

Social-MediaAdvertising

Internet Advertising

Podasts Blogs

podcastAny brief digital broadcast that includes audio, images, and video delivered separately or in combination.

blogPersonal Web site where an individual shares thoughts, pictures, and comments with visitors.

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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specialty mediaRelatively inexpensive useful items featuring an advertiser’s name or logo; also called giveaways or advertising specialties.

Books Calendars Magnets Pens

Specialty Media

Pencils Shirts Caps Bags

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

DigitalBillboards

On-Screen MovieTheater Ads

BathroomStalls

iPods®

Other Advertising Media

Cell Phones Laptops Video Games Vlogs

Web Logs RSS News Feeds Twitter® Facebook®

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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Examples of Each Type of Media

Magazine, direct mail, directory, outdoor transient

radio

Banner & search engine, rich-mediaAnd video, social media

Appointment books, calendars, magnets, pens, pencils

New media, iPods, cell phones, laptops, video games

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

Advantages and Disadvantages of

Print Media

Few non-subscribers

Limited shelf life

Limited color

Ads less cool

Circulation declines

longer shelf life

Better graphics

variety

cost

Deadlines!

sent to specific peopleBuy mailing lists

Wide choice of printed ads

flexibility

Low level of response

Image of “junk mail”cost

Distribution known;Target people living in

Certain areas;

coupons easilytracked;

cost is relatively low

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

Advantages and Disadvantages of

Print Media

Advertising Media

Types of Media

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9.1

Types of Internet Advertising

Advertising Media

Media Planning and Selection

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9.1

Media Planning and Selection Tips

Accomplish a marketing objective

Use media-planning software

Use media-cost data

Use audience information

media planningThe process of selecting the appropriate advertising media and deciding the time or space in which ads should appear to accomplish a marketing objective.

Advertising Media

Determine which form of advertising would most likely be used by a small company with a limited budget.

Section 19.1

1.

Print advertising in the form of newspaper ads would likely be the best value for a small company with a limited budget. Through newspaper ads, the company could target local customers or those with interests that might connect them to the company.

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Advertising Media

Identify potential drawbacks with using the two types of broadcast media.

Section 19.1

2.

Drawbacks for television advertising include: high production costs, and viewers often change stations or leave the room during commercials, or use devices that allow them to view commercial-free programming. Drawbacks for radio advertising include: goods or services can only be described, not seen, and radio ads have a short life span.

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Advertising Media

Connect the practice of media planning to the concept of market segmentation.

Section 19.1

3.

Market segmentation–the process of classifying people who form a given market into even smaller groups–is a part of media planning. The demographics and lifestyles of the target audience must be considered during media planning.

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PREDICT What financial and design factors do advertisers have to consider?

Media Rates

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• Identify media measurement techniques.

• Explain techniques used to evaluate media.

• Summarize how media costs are determined.

• Explain promotional budget methods.

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9.2

Media Rates

Businesses need to reach as many targeted

customers as possible. It is important to

calculate costs and measure media

effectiveness to reach a potential audience.

Media Rates

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9.2

Media Rates

Media Measurement and RatesS

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Media Rates

Media Measurement and RatesS

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Media Rates

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Media Measurement

Key Terms in Media Measurement

Audience

Frequency

Impression

Cost per Thousand (CPM)

audienceThe number of homes or people exposed to an ad.

frequencyThe number of times an audience sees or hears an advertisement.

impressionA single exposure to an advertising message.

cost per thousand (CPM)The media-measurement cost of exposing 1,000 readers or viewers to an advertising impression.

Media Rates

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Media Rates

Factors That Affect Newspaper Advertising Rates

Media Rates

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Media Rates

Factors That Affect Newspaper Advertising Rates

Media Rates

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Media Rates

Magazine Rates Internet Rates

Radio Rates Television Rates

§ Circulation§ Type of readership§ Production techniques§ Frequency discounts

§ Banner ads§ Rich media ads§ Popup ad§ Pop-under ads§ Pay-for-sale

§ Network ads§ National spot-radio§ Local radio§ Time of day

§ National§ Local§ Time of day

Media Rates

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Media Rates

Acquire recordings of radio advertisements for four radio airtimes. After students have listened to all advertisements, conduct a class discussion. Ask questions such as:

Media Rates

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Promotional Budget

Promotional Budgeting Methods

Media Rates

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Promotional Budget

Promotional Budgeting Methods

Media Rates

Contrast possible ad rates for a small weekly newspaper with a large daily newspaper.

Section 19.2

1.

With all things except circulation being equal, comparing rates using cost per thousand (CPM) measurement, it would cost less to advertise in a large daily newspaper. For example: Cost of ad for both papers = $500. Circulation for small weekly newspaper = 10,000. Circulation for large daily = 200,000. Calculate: small weekly newspaper ($500 x 1,000/10,000 = $50 per 1,000 readers. Large daily newspaper ($500 x 1,000/200,000 = $2.50)

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Media Rates

Explain how CPM determines the rates television and radio stations charge for advertising.

Section 19.2

2.

CPM is the cost of exposing 1,000 viewers or listeners to an advertising impression. For television and radio, as the number of viewers or listeners increases, the cost of the advertising increases, so the CPM increases.

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Media Rates

Suggest a reason that following the competition is not the best model for creating a promotional budget.

Section 19.2

3.

Possible answer: The competition’s goals may be very different than your goals. Following the competition’s advertising will likely not help you reach your goals.

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End of

Section 19.1Advertising Media

Chapter 19

advertising

Section 19.2Media Rates