How to win argumentsWith web performance data
Buddy Brewer@bbrewer
I’m a salesman.
WARNING
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
“There is no doubt about precisely when folks began racing each other in automobiles. It was the day they built the second automobile.”
Richard Petty
May 29, 2015
http://www.webpagetest.org/video/
May 29, 2015
May 29, 2015
http://www.webpagetest.org/video/
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
Average case: 6 pagesBest case: 8 pages
Visits: 100MeCPM: $10
Median load time: 4.0 secBest case: 3.3 sec
(8 pages - 6 pages) * 100M * 4 ads / 1K * $10 CPM = $8M
700 ms = $8M
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
Current Conversion Rate: 2.7% Current Page Load Time: 3.0 sec
Visits: 25M AOV: $100
4.12 sec 2.7%
3.0 sec 4.9%
(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 = $54M
1 sec = $54M
$
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
May 29, 2015
44% Consumers say slow transactions make them
anxious about transaction success.
May 29, 2015
51% Consumers say slowness is the top reason they would
abandon a purchase online.
May 29, 2015
http://blog.radware.com/applicationdelivery/applicationaccelerationoptimization/2014/01/55-web-performance-stats-youll-want-to-know/
May 29, 2015
1.Engage competitive nature
2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version
3.Estimate ROI: Stick version
4.Show impact to brand
5.Leverage outside “expert” influences
See SOASTA at booth #801