fixing quality score unbounce conversion road trip

76
#PPCHero es @ChristiJO lson CHRISTI OLSON DIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT SAVE QUALITY SCORE SAVE THE WORLD

Upload: christi-olson

Post on 04-Aug-2015

333 views

Category:

Marketing


2 download

TRANSCRIPT

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlsonCHRISTI OLSONDIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT

SAVE QUALITY SCORE SAVE THE WORLD

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlsonCHRISTI OLSONDIRECTOR OF SEM, POINT IT

FIX YOUR QUALITY SCORE SAVE YOUR WALLET

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson

CONCEALING MY IDENTITY….CRAZY RUNNER

Seattle Based Digital Marketing Agency

DIRECTOR OF SEM FAMILY!

I‘ve also worked for:

DISGUISED AS “MERIDA” FOR A HALF MARATHON

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE

THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS

SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS

@ChristiJOlson

I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION:

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

I’M MAKING AN ASSUMPTION:

YOU UNDERSTAND THE BASICS:• TERMINOLOGY• ACCOUNT STRUCTURE• BENEFITS OF PPC ADVERTISING

HEARD OF QUALITY SCORE

#ConvRoadTrip

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE

THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS

SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS

EVERY GOOD STORY STARTS WITH A BACKSTORY

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

QUALITY SCORE ISN’T A MAGICAL FAIRY TALE

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

IT’S NOT THE CURE ALL TO MANAGING PPC ACCOUNTS

@ChristiJOlson

“…understanding this information [QUALITY SCORE] is the key to really unlocking AdWords”

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

QUALITY SCORE (QS) ISN’T A KPI

IT’S A DIAGNOSTIC TOOL

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

GOOGLE TALK ABOUT “VISIBLE QS”

ACCOUNT

CAMPAIGN

KEYWORD

IMPRESSION WEIGHTED ACCOUNT AVERAGE

IMPRESSION WEIGHTED CAMPAIGN AVERAGE

VISIBLE IN THE ADWORDS UI

#ConvRoadTrip

SO WHAT OTHER QS IS THERE?

@ChristiJOlson

HISTORICAL ACCOUNT PERFORMANCE MATTERS

ACCOUNT

CAMPAIGN

KEYWORD

#ConvRoadTrip

NEW CAMPAIGNS IN EXISTING ACCOUNTS

@ChristiJOlson

HISTORICAL CAMPAIGN PERFORMANCE MATTERS

ACCOUNT

CAMPAIGN

KEYWORD

NEW AD GROUPS & KEYWORDS IN EXISTING CAMPAIGNS

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

DON’T OBSESS ABOUT QUALITY SCORE, BUT USE IT AS A DIRECTIONAL GUIDE FOR ACCOUNT OPTIMIZATION

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson #PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson

QUALITY SCORE PUTS THE USER FIRST

USER FINDS WHAT THEY ARE LOOKING FOR

REWARDS ADVERTISERS FOR RELEVANT ADS

@ChristiJOlson

WHAT I WON’T COVER IN DEPTH TODAY

MOBILE QS DISPLAY QS

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE

THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS

SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS

@ChristiJOlson

LET’S DIG IN….

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

LET’S MEET THE CHARACTERS IN THIS STORY…

Ad C

opy

Keyword

Landing Page

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

VISIBLE QUALITY SCORE ELEMENTS:

Landing Page

Ad C

opy

Keyword

Historical Account

Performance

Device

Network

relevance

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE

#ConvRoadTrip

KEYWORDS

AD COPYLANDING PAGE

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

BREAKDOWN OF IMPORTANCE OF QS ELEMENTS

@Bloomarty bit.ly/QSelements

REALLY, YOU DON’T SAY? TELL ME MORE

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

QS IS A MULTIPLER IN AD RANK

AD RANK HELPS DETERMINE POSITION

HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION

ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK

$0.50 * 10 = 5

$1.00 * 4 = 4

$4.00 * 1 = 4

POS

1

2

3

AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

HOW ADWORDS CALCULATES CPC

ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK

$0.50 * 10 = 5

$1.00 * 4 = 4

$4.00 * 1 = 4

POS CPC

1 (4/10) + $0.01 = $0.41

2 (4/4) + 0.01 = $1.01

3

CPC = (AD RANK TO BEAT/QS) +0.01

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS

HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION

AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS * FORMAT

AD EXTENSIONS

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

HOW QUALITY SCORE FITS INTO OPTIMIZATION

ADVERTISER MAX CPC QS AD RANK

($2.00 * 9 ) * = 18

($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16

($4.00 * 4 ) * = 16

POS

1

2

3

AD RANK = MAX CPC * QS

none

high

medium

FORMAT IMPACT

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

If the Bid & QS is equal the ads with better expected CTR from

extensions can appear in higher position.

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE

THE CHARACTERS: WHAT MAKES UP QS CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT

SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson

TRIFECTA OF RELEVANCE

KEYWORDS

AD COPYLANDING PAGE

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson

KEYWORDS

QUERY TO KEYWORD

MATCH TYPE

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson

KEYWORDS

QUERY TO KEYWORD

KEYWORD TO AD COPY

EXPECTED CTR

@ChristiJOlson

SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE

EVALUATE YOUR STRUCTURE:• # KEYWORDS/AD GROUP

• TIGHTLY KNIT AD GROUPS

• NEGATIVE KEYWORDS TO RING-FENCE AD GROUPS

#ConvRoadTrip

Campaign

Ad Group

Keywords Ads

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson

MATCH TYPES & NEGATIVE KEYWORD MATCHING

bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript

@ChristiJOlson

SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCEGOOGLE CALCULATES QS FOR EXACT MATCH

BUT YOU WILL SEE QS DIFFERENCES BY MATCH TYPE

#ConvRoadTrip

IW QSBroad 4.7 Phrase 5.1 Exact 6.8

Impression Weighted Quality Score

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

TYING KEYWORDS TO AD COPY

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

WE’VE ALL SEEN IT BEFORE…

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

STRUCTURE OF AD GROUPSQUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE

SOLID COPY WRITING

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

QUERY TYPE

STAGE IN PURCHASE FUNNEL

COPY WRITTEN TO CONVEY INTENT?

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK?

DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

WHY WOULD I WANT TO CLICK?

DOES YOUR AD STAND OUT?

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

USER INTENTCTA &

SPECIFIC BENEFITS

DIFFERENTIATION

CALL TO ACTION!

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

AD RELEVANCE & EXPECTED CTR

KEYWORD IN COPY

COMPELLING COPY

CTA & SPECIFIC BENEFITS

USER INTENT

AD EXTENSIONS

#ConvRoadTrip@ChristiJOlson

TOGETHER KWDS + COPY TELL YOUR STORY

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

DON’T STRANGLE YOUR CHANCES BEFORE THE CLICK

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

ADD AD EXTENSIONS bit.ly/PI-adextensions

Seller RatingReviewCalloutSocial AnnotationSitelinks Location

Bing RAIS

Google “Mega” Ad

Mobile Click-to-Call

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

IT’S NOT A MAGIC TRICK, IT’S SOLID PPC

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

LANDING PAGE• TO AD & KEYWORDS• UNIQUE CONTENT• BASED ON USER INTENT

RELEVANT

• TRUSTWORTHINESS• EASY TO FIND CONTACT INFORMATION• ADS/SPONSORED CONTENT CALLED OUT

TRANSPARENCY

• USABLE ACROSS DEVICES• EASY TO FIND PRODUCT / SERVICE INFO• NO POP-UPS• PAGE LOAD TIME (SLOW vs FAST)

EASE OF NAVIGATION

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

THE BACKSTORY: WHAT IS QUALITY SCORE

THE CHARACTERS: COMPONENTS OF QS

SAVE YOUR WALLET: TIPS & TOOLS

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

DON’T DIG AROUND AIMLESSLY TRYING TO IMPROVE QShttp://bit.ly/PI-QS

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

GOOGLE DOESN’T SAVE HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE IN YOUR ACCOUNT.

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

bit.ly/MR-qstrackerScript @bloomarty

USE SCRIPTS TO TRACK HISTORICAL QUALITY SCORE

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

bit.ly/SEL-sqrScript @marceladevivo @siliconvallaeys

USE SCRIPTS TO MANAGE SEARCH QUERIES

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

LANDING PAGE QS DATA ISN’T EASY TO FIND

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

CLICK ON SPEECH BUTTON IN STATUS COLUMN TO SEE QS FACTORS PER KEYWORD

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

HOW DO YOU TROUBLESHOOT LANDING PAGES ISSUES?

@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

BING ADS PROVIDES… TRANSPARENCY TO QS PERFORMANCE REPORTING TO GET ACTIONABLE INSIGHTS

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

DETERMINE IF YOU HAVE AND ISSUE AND WHAT IT IS

QS

AD RELEVANCE

LANDING PAGE

EXPECTED CTR

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

QUALITY SCORE ASSESSMENT WORKBOOK

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

PULL KEYWORD PERFORMANCE DATA FOR 30-60 DAYS

PASTE IT INTO THE WORKBOOK COPY FORMULAS TO POWER THE WORKBOOKREFRESH DATA TABLESVOILA – LOOK AT YOUR ACCOUNT DATA TO IDENTIFY OPPORTUNITIES

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

IS THERE OPPORTUNITY TO IMPROVE QS?Account Average QS

4.8Account Weighted QS

5.4

IS YOUR WEIGHTED QS>6?

DO 75-80% OF KWDS HAVE QS > 5?

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

WHERE ARE YOU SPENDING THE MOST $$?

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

ESTIMATING THE POTENTIAL SAVINGS VS EFFORT

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson

QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC10 decreased by 50%9 decreased by 44%8 decreased by 38% 7 decreased by 29% 6 decreased by 17%

5 Googles Baseline4 increased by 25%3 increased by 68%2 increased by 150%1 increased by 400%

#ConvRoadTrip

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson

QUALITY SCORE AFFECTS YOUR CPC

#ConvRoadTrip

If your Quality Score is:Word Stream: bit.ly/WS-qscost

Your CPC vs QS 5 QS + 1 Savings QS -1 Costs10 -50% 0% 11%

9 -44% 10% 13%8 -38% 11% 14%7 -29% 13% 17%6 -17% 14% 20%5 0% 17% 25%4 25% 20% 33%3 67% 25% 50%2 150% 33% 100%1 400% 50% 0%

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

IS YOUR CTR AN ISSUE?

CTR by Position: bit.ly/1Qjv8BU

IS IT DUE TO: SEARCH QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCE

KEYWORD TO AD RELEVANCE

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

HOW WELL IS YOUR ACCOUNT PERFORMING COMPARED TO EXPECTED RESULTS?

GOOD QUALITY SCORES MEAN LOWER CPC'S AND HIGHER CTR'S. LONG TAIL TERMS SHOULD HAVE HIGHER CONVERSION RATES AND BE LESS EXPENSIVE (CHEAPER CPCS.)

#PPCHeroes@ChristiJOlson@ChristiJOlson #ConvRoadTrip

USE THE “CAMPAIGN” TAB TO DIG IN DEEPER

@ChristiJOlson

YOUR NEXT STEPSUSE THE QS ASSESMENT WORKBOOK (XLS) TO IDENTIFY TROUBLE AREAS• 30-60 DAYS OF PERFORMANCE DATA• START WITH LOW QUALITY / HIGH VOLUME CAMPAIGNS• IDENTIFY IF THE ISSUE IS RELATED

USE THE SEARCH QUERY REPORT [MIN QUARTERLY] FOR KWD RELVANCE• ADD NEGATIVES TO KEEP QUERY TO KEYWORD RELEVANCY HIGH• ADD AND SEGEMENT AD GROUPS BASED ON NEW QUERIES

#ConvRoadTrip

@ChristiJOlson

YOUR NEXT STEPSDEVELOP YOUR ACTION PLAN• ISSUE: KEYWORDS

• EVALUATE MATCH TYPE BREAKDOWN• DEVELOP TIGHTER THEMED AD GROUPS• PAUSE / REMOVE LOW QS KEYWORDS THAT DON’T CONVERT

• ISSUES: AD COPY• CUSTOMIZE AD COPY USING RELEVANT KEYWORDS FOR EACH AD GROUP• TEST AD CUSTOMIZERS TO IMPROVE RELEVANCE• TEST [OPTIMIZE CONTENT OF] AD EXTENSIONS

• ISSUES: LANDING PAGE• TEST DIFFERENT LANDING PAGES TO IMPROVE CVR & QS• LEVERAGE LP TESTING SOFTWARE TO DYNAMICALLY INSERT RELEVANT CONTENT

#ConvRoadTrip

?’s

@ChristiJOlson

THANK YOU! bit.ly/PI-QS

#ConvRoadTrip