iowa department of public health spf sig substance abuse media webinar

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Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar Presented to Prevention Agencies January 24, 2012

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Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar. Presented to Prevention Agencies January 24, 2012. How to Create a Substance Abuse Media Plan in Your Local Area. Introductions. Julie Hibben, IDPH SPF SIG Project Director - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Iowa Department of Public HealthSPF SIG Substance Abuse

Media WebinarPresented to Prevention Agencies

January 24, 2012

Page 2: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

How to Create a Substance Abuse Media Plan

in Your Local Area

Page 3: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Introductions• Julie Hibben, IDPH SPF SIG Project Director• Andrea Marinaro, ZLRIGNITION Vice President,

Media Director• Kelly Konz, ZLRIGNITION Account Supervisor• Nick Grant, ZLRIGNITION Account Manager

Page 4: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Agenda• Campaign Overview• Review the SPF SIG Advertising Campaign and

Statewide Media Schedule• “How to” Create a Media Plan• “How to” Reach the SPF SIG Target Audiences• Media Buying Basics• Placing Online Advertising• Campaign Creative Elements• Additional Advertising Options• Contact Information • Q&A

Page 5: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Campaign Overview• Statewide message about underage drinking and

adult binge drinking– Mediums utilized are TV & outdoor

• SPF SIG counties should use both campaigns• IDPH will not fund additional media campaigns

through SPF SIG• Media campaign materials will be available to the

SPF SIG Coordinator through ZLR– TV, outdoor, radio, print/posters, online banner ads

Page 6: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Campaign Overview

• Counties will not be permitted to change the campaign materials and create new materials based on the campaigns– No giveaways, table tents, banners, etc.

• Counties need to keep in mind the target populations of both campaigns when purchasing media

• Non-SPF SIG funded counties can utilize the media campaigns by contacting Julie Hibben

Page 7: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

SPF SIG Advertising Campaign & Statewide Media Schedule

Page 8: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Situation Analysis• Gather background information including concerns,

industry statistics, competition, etc. • SPF SIG Example: Research findings

– Underage• There is no stereotypical “face” to underage drinking – behavior

transcends group, crowd, gender• Incidence of underage drinking is high among high school teens

and increases as students age• Aspiration and inclusion are the most influential emotional drivers• Can’t tell this audience not to drink, instead educate on the risks

and harms. Keep it real.

Page 9: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Situation Analysis• SPF SIG Example: Research findings

– Binge• Young adults are underage, but more closely align with

motivations of legal drinkers• Most adults are reluctant to self-identify with binge drinking. It is

perceived as something a young adult does• Binge drinking is based on the individual’s mindset and behavior

when drinking – this is more indicative that the definitive drinks-per-occasion definition

Page 10: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Target Audience• Underage audience is 13-20 with an emphasis on

age 13-16– Research indicates audience should be reached before

their critical decision moment. Younger students are much more impressionable, therefore campaign is designed to give them the confidence to make a smart decision before they are faced with the decision to drink for the first time.

Page 11: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Target Audience• Binge audience is 18-44 with an emphasis on age

18-22– Research indicates audience should be reached at the

intersection of developmental lifestages, or as this group transitions to becoming young adults where the lifestage offers a constant drinking occasion.

Page 12: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Statewide Media Schedule

Page 13: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Objective• Raise awareness to combat both underage and binge

drinking in the targeted 23 Iowa counties

Page 14: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Strategy• Reach teen and young adult audience through mass

advertising in underage and binge drinking problem areas of the state

Page 15: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Tactics

Page 16: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Reason chosen: Geographically covers the specific counties and demographically targets the audience

– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids

– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo

• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),

Spencer, Western

• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)

Page 17: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Media Schedule• Cable TV Tactics

– Air commercials on highly-rated stations for 13-16 year-olds

– Air 40 spots per week from 3pm – 12am– Air commercials for 10 weeks December through April

Page 18: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Media Schedule• Broadcast TV – Sioux City DMA

– Reason chosen: Reaches the counties of interest for the campaign. These counties are not reached by cable. Can target the audience with programming.

– Commercials will air during live airings of American Idol each week to efficiently reach the 13-16 year-old target audience

– Schedule runs for 9 weeks, January – March (one spot per week)

Page 19: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Media Schedule• Outdoor

– Extends reach into the counties of interest– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January

• Some boards were added later as they became available and will run when available through September 2012

Page 20: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Media Schedule• Cable TV

– Reason chosen: Geographically covers the specific counties and demographically targets the audience

– Markets include:• Cedar Rapids

– Cedar Rapids, Dubuque, Iowa City, Mason City, South Central Iowa (Ottumwa), Upper Mississippi, Waterloo

• Des Moines– Central Iowa Interconnect (Ames, Des Moines, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown),

Spencer, Western

• Quad Cities– Clinton, Quad Cities, Southeast Iowa (Burlington)

Page 21: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Media Schedule• Cable TV Tactics

– Commercials will air on highly-rated stations– 40 spots per week will air from 6am – 12am– Schedule runs for 10 weeks between December and April

Page 22: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Media Schedule• Broadcast TV – Sioux City DMA

– Reason chosen: Reaches the counties of interest for the campaign. These counties are not reached by cable. Can target the audience with programming.

– Spots air for 4 weeks in February– Commercials will air during programming that best reaches the

18-22 year-old audience– Purchase 50 rating points/week

• Equivalent to reaching 50% of this audience each week

Page 23: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Media Schedule• Outdoor

– Extends reach into the counties of interest– Billboards will post for 8 weeks in December and January

• Some boards were added later as they became available and will run when available through August 2012

Page 24: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Create aMedia Plan

Page 25: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Create a Media PlanStep 1:• What is your budget?

– Determining your budget for paid advertising will guide a lot of media options and “weed out” those that are too costly to utilize effectively

Page 26: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Create a Media PlanStep 2: Define your Objective• What is your goal, what do you want to accomplish?

– Is it measurable? • Example:

– Increase web site clicks, increase calls to a phone number• Or, are you simply generating awareness of the message with an

audience?

Page 27: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Create a Media PlanStep 3: Strategies• How are you going to accomplish that goal?

– Example:• Air a media campaign in Dubuque county to target 13-16 year-olds

using cable– Once the strategy is finalized:

• Contact the cable company and get rates to run commercials • Work with sales staff to put a buy together using your budget and

objectives

Page 28: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Create a Media PlanStep 4: Tactics• What are your tactics or deliverables?

– Tactic examples:• Spend $5,000 and air 40 commercials a week on cable in the

Dubuque cable zone for 4 weeks on MTV and Comedy central from 6a-12a

• Post a billboard in Dubuque county for 4 weeks

Page 29: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

“How to” Reach the Target Audiences with Paid Ads

Page 30: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage DrinkingHow do you reach the younger, youth population?• Cable Advertising – Pay to run commercials on MTV, ABC

Family, ESPN• Online Advertising – Pay to run banner ads or text ads on

www.youtube.com, www.facebook.com, www.myyearbook.com, www.tagged.com

• Other ideas (not paid media): – Ask schools to put the posters up in common areas– Go to libraries, restaurants and ask them to put up posters

• Message timing: Look to run ads after 3pm on television as 13-16 year-olds are in school during the day

Page 31: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge DrinkingWhere do you reach the young adult population? • Cable Advertising – Pay to run commercials on Comedy

Central, Discovery Channel, ESPN• Online Advertising – Pay to run banner ads or text ads on

www.youtube.com, espn.go.com, tmz.com, www.facebook.com

• College Newspapers – Pay to put an ad in college newspapers

• Bus/Transit Ads – Pay to place ads in or outside on buses• Restaurant/Bar Signage – Pay to place ads in public

restrooms at local bars/restaurants or receive permission to post in college buildings

Page 32: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Drinking (continued)• Other ideas (not paid media):

– Social media – Create Facebook and Twitter, you can create accounts and get friends or post status updates

• Message timing: The young adult population size may increase over the holidays or summer when students are back home for college break

Page 33: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Buying Basics

Page 34: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Buying Basics• Television Programming for Teens & 18-22 year-olds

– Early Fringe 3p-5p: Simpsons, Family Guy – Prime Access 6:30p: Two and a Half Men– Prime Time 7p-10p: American Idol, Glee, Simpsons, Modern

Family, House, CSI, How I Met Your Mother

• Cable Networks/Programming for Teens & 18-22 year-olds– ESPN, Discovery, MTV, TLC, FX, TBS, Cartoon, Comedy, History,

TNT, Spike, ABC Family, E!, Animal Planet– Sportscenter, Teen Mom II, Pretty Little Liars, Kardashians, Daily

Show, E! News, Chelsea Lately, Family Guy, Tosh.O, Cake Boss, Swamp People, Storm Chasers, King of the Hill, America’s Funniest Home Videos

Page 35: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Buying Basics• Cable and Television – If you buy a commercial to air

during a wide time frame such as 6am-12am on ABC Family for example, those spots are cheaper than buying a spot in a specific program such as Pretty Little Liars on ABC Family at 7pm. When you narrow the time frames to buy specific programs, the ratings are higher so the rate is higher. – Spots purchased from 6a-12a would be called rotator spots as

they rotate to run anytime during that time period

Page 36: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Buying Basics• Radio – To reach teens, you would buy a station with

a format that teens like, for example, CHR (Contemporary Hits Radio – Top 40), Country, Hot Adult Contemporary, Rock– Those stations will have better ratings for teens than news/talk for

example. Local county radio stations don’t have ratings, but usually have good listenership for the people that live in those counties and can be good to purchase depending on format of music played.

Page 37: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Buying Basics• Print – Cost doesn’t change depending on when

purchased. Different size ads are different rates.– This campaign is targeted to teens and younger adults

print ads in community or metro papers may not be the most efficient method to reach this audience as costs may be high and reach low

• Outdoor – Rates are different depending on the visibility of the board and the number of people who see it every day.– For example, a board in the city of Dubuque is more

expensive than one on outskirts of town or in a rural area

Page 38: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Medium Pros Cons

Cable

Low cost per spot High frequency of the message Target networks with high appeal to

target audience Excellent added value

High frequency, low reach Only reaches households that subscribe

to cable (51% of Iowa Households) Low rural coverage

Broadcast Television

Mass reach medium, available in nearly all Iowa households

Good for campaigns covering a large geographic area

Buying the Iowa TV markets of: Cedar Rapids, Des Moines, Mason City, Quad Cities, Sioux City, Ottumwa, and Omaha reaches 99% of Iowa Households

Consistent added value results

Higher cost per spot than cable (priced based on reaching a percentage of a target audience using rating points)

High reach, low frequency May cover a lot more counties than

necessary for your campaigns – you pay a higher rate for that coverage

Outdoor Billboards

Metro and rural coverage Visually appealing message Message cannot be shut off Excellent added value results

Expensive to cover the entire state High production costs to print vinyl Cannot target demographically Message must be succinct

Page 39: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Each circle represents a cable zone that can be purchased.

Page 40: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Each circle represents a television market area (DMA) that can be purchased

Page 41: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Medium Pros Cons

Radio

Rural and metro coverage available Some local/rural stations can provide

necessary reach and frequency for a campaign

Generates frequency of the message Ads are 60 seconds long for messages

with more to say Can target specific times of day

Expensive to cover the entire state Listenership is fragmented Satellite radio, CDs and iPod use

continues to rise

Online

Low cost per thousand Can purchase millions of impressions on

a variety of web sites Geo and demo targeting available Measurable results Effective when driving someone to a web

site for more information

Must have a good web site Defining success based on clicks to

your web site may be misleading, some messages should be used for generating awareness

Dependant on a person seeking out your message

Message can be ignored No added value

Print

Can target metro and rural areas Good for reaching older demographics

Expensive to cover the state Overall newspaper readership and

subscribers are down No added value results

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Page 42: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Cost Comparisons for AdsCost Comparisons for space costs for Des Moines market: Cable Spot One 30 second spot on MTV in Jersey Shore - $55 Television One 30 second spot on KCCI 10pm News - $900 Outdoor Billboard One vinyl 14x48 billboard in Des Moines - $4,200/month Online One thousand banner ads on youtube.com - $2.50 cost per thousand Radio One 60 second spot on KISS 107.5 FM - $85 Gas Station Gas pump signs at one gas station - $415/month Movie Theater One week of commercials on 20 screens at Jordan Creek theaters - $425/week Mall Signage Backlit at Valley West Mall - $800/month Print One half-page b/w ad in Des Moines Register Datebook – $3,845 Bus Signage One ad on side of bus - $250/month Bathroom Signage One ad in a bathroom at one location - $205/month

Note: Costs are constantly changing and are based on multiple factors, these numbers are for reference only

Generally, low cost options are: Cable, online, rural radio stations, bus signage, bathroom signage

Page 43: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Cost Comparisons for Ads

Cost Comparisons for space costs for Des Moines market: Cable Spot Run eighteen :30 second spots in Jersey Shore on MTV Television One 30 second spot on KCCI 10pm News Outdoor Billboard One poster billboard in Des Moines Online 400,000 banner ads on youtube.com Radio Eleven 60 second spots on KISS 107.5 FM 6a-7p Gas Station Gas pump signs at two gas stations Movie Theater Two weeks of commercials on 20 screens at Jordan Creek theaters Mall Signage Backlit at Valley West Mall for one month Print One eighth-page ad in Des Moines Register Datebook Bus Signage Four ads on the sides of buses Bathroom Signage One ad in a bathroom at five locations

For example, if your budget is $1,000 for Des Moines, you could buy the following on each medium if you spent $1,000 on each individual medium.

Below outlines what you could get on cable for $1,000 compared to $1,000 on broadcast television for example. This depends on actual advertising rates, but this is an estimate of how mediums might compare to help you make a choice on where to spend your money.

Page 44: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Low Cost Options• Depending on your budgets and objectives, the

following are good low-cost options:– Cable ads– Online ads– Rural radio station ads– Bus signage– Bathroom signage

Page 45: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Glossary of Media TermsCost Per Point – cost to deliver the equivalent of one rating point (1 percent) of a specific audience segment with a media vehicle. Used to compare cost efficiencies of one TV/Radio program versus another. Cost Per Thousand (CPM) – the cost per 1,000 people (or homes) delivered by a medium. For example, a media vehicle that costs $10,000 and has an audience of 500,000 has a CPM of $20. Used to compare efficiencies across mediums Frequency – the number of times the target audience has an opportunity to be exposed to a message Gross Rating Point - Reach multiplied by frequency is the gross rating point or the sum of all ratings. For example, if one commercial is scheduled in each of two TV programs each with a 10 rating, that will accumulate 20 GRPs. The reason for using the word “gross” indicates there is duplication between the two ratings so the people who viewed program A might also view program B therefore, they do not reach 20% of people but the equivalent of 20 percent of the people, one time with the message. Impression – the gross sum of all media exposures without regard to duplication expressed in absolute audience numbers rather than a percentage. Rating – Percentage of a given population group consuming a medium at a particular moment. For example, we say a TV program had a 10 rating of adults 18-49 is to say that 10 percent of the adult population ages 18-49 viewed the average minute of the program. Ratings apply to specific demographic groups as well as geographic areas. Reach – the number of different individuals exposed to a commercial, it is a net number that eliminates duplication. Reach for television and radio is usually shown by week or cumulatively for a 4-week period or longer.

Page 46: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Sales RepresentativesSioux City Area

Company Rep Name Phone Fax e-mailCableCable One CableOne Di Haindfield 712-233-1511 712-258-2926 [email protected]

Outdoor(Including Bus/Transit) Avery Outdoor Deb Brobst 800-369-7446 712-252-2759 [email protected]

Mason City AreaCompany Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

Cable On Media Jennifer Krautbauer 319-395-9674 319-395-9352 [email protected]

Outdoor Fairway Kent Beatty 641-424-4173 641-424-8359 [email protected]

Cedar Rapids/Waterloo/Iowa City/Dubuque AreasCompany Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

CableMediacom On Media Jennifer Krautbauer 319-395-9674 319-395-9352 [email protected]

OutdoorLamar Lamar Brenda Truelsen 319-234-7753 319-234-4907 [email protected]

BusJustin Litt Houck Justin Litt 800.777.7290  651.489.7620  [email protected]

Page 47: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Sales RepresentativesDes Moines

Company Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

Cable OnMedia Leslie Malcom 515-697-6785 [email protected]

OutdoorClear Channel Clear Channel Steve Burke 515-875-4022 515-282-1551 [email protected]

BusDART DART Kirstin Baer-Harding 283-8132 [email protected]

Ottumwa AreaCompany Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

Cable On Media Jennifer Krautbauer 319-395-9674 319-395-9352 [email protected]

Quad Cities/Clinton/Burlington AreasCompany Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

Cable On Media Libbie Babka 309-797-2907 309-764-5731 [email protected]

OutdoorLamar-DU, Clinton, McGregor, QC Lamar Ann Tressel 563-556-4141 563-556-0648 [email protected]

Page 48: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Media Sales Representatives

Company Contact EmailMovie TheaterNational Cinemedia (NCM) Jon Lamoreaux [email protected] Deanna Bridges [email protected]

AllOver MediaGas Pumps, Bathroom Jennifer Swanson [email protected]

Council Bluffs AreaCompany Rep Name Phone Fax e-mail

Cable Cox Marsha O'gara 402.934.0811 402.934.4001 marsha.o'[email protected]

Outdoor Lamar-Council Bluffs Sheila Kuehn 402-734-6850 402-734-6853 [email protected]

Page 49: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Placing Online Advertising• Facebook:

– Login to http://www.facebook.com/ads/create/– Follow steps to create your text ad and set budget– Geo-target to reach Iowans or only those in your county– Purchase ads as pay per click where you only pay when

someone clicks on the ad • Costs approximately $1 per click• Ads will show up thousands of times but you only pay when

someone clicks and goes to your website or Facebook page

Page 50: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Placing Online Advertising• You Tube or other Google sites (espn.go.com,

tmz.com, myyearbook.com):– Login to https://www.google.com/intl/en/ads/new/– Set-up an account and follow the steps to create a

campaign and upload ads – Geo-target to reach Iowans or only those in your county– Cost is roughly $2.50 for one-thousand ads on these sites

• $500 yields approx. 200,000 impressions on these websites• You pay for impressions (approx. $2.50 CPM (cost per thousand))

Page 51: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Campaign Creative Elements

Page 52: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Television• Utilize existing TV spots and localize with

personalized tag (agency name, address, phone number, web address, etc.)

• TV/Cable stations provide tag for little to no cost• Gather dub requirements from station (electronic,

Beta SP dub, etc.) and contact ZLR for file/dub• No charge for electronic files. Cost is approximately

$40 per physical dub + shipping.

Page 53: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Television• Add TV spots here

Page 54: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Outdoor• Utilize outdoor from statewide campaign• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• Outdoor production companies will print boards• Printing costs run approximately $100 per poster

board and $1800 per vinyl board

Page 55: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Poster & Print Ad Creative

Page 56: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Poster & Print Ad Creative

Page 57: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Poster• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Sizes are 11”x17” x 24”x36”• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request

Page 58: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Print Ad• Poster artwork can also be used as print ad• Vertical formatted BW or Color ad• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

address, phone number, web address, etc.)• Newspapers will provide tag for little to no

cost• Artwork will be provided by ZLR upon request• No cost to send electronic pdf file to

newspaper

Page 59: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Underage Online Banner Ads Creative

Page 60: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Binge Online Banner Ads Creative

Page 61: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Online Banner Ads

• Banner ads created for use online advertising• Localize with personalized tag (agency name,

and web address or phone number)• Gather size requirements and artwork will be

provided by ZLR upon request

Page 62: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Radio Ads

• Personalize radio spots with agency name, address, phone number, web address, etc.

• Radio stations provide tag for little to no cost• Gather requirements from station (electronic,

dub, etc.) and contact ZLR for file/dub• No charge for electronic files

Page 63: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Additional Advertising Options

Page 64: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Medium Pros Cons

Movie Theater

Can reach people out with friends with an entertaining message

Commercials run on large movie theater screens before the movie, captive audience

Reaches ethnic and young audiences that tend to frequent movies

Metro and rural coverage available

Expensive to cover the state High production costs to transfer

commercial to film Spots run before movies so if people

show up late they miss the spot Cannot target demographically People that don’t attend movies won’t

see the spot No added value

Gas Station Signage

Reach people at gas pumps and convenience stores

Metro and rural coverage available Good added value

Cannot target demographically Message is static, does not necessarily

draw attention

Mall Signage

Target metro areas Message can be large and visually

appealing

Message must be family friendly Inability to target demographics Low rural reach

Bus Signage

Targets metro areas with visually appealing message

Mobile billboard Good added value

Not available in every area of the state

Bathroom Signage

Target people in bars and restaurants Message can be detailed Good added value

Not available in every area of the state

Pros and Cons of Advertising Options

Page 65: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

ZLRIGNITION Media

• Advantages of using ZLR to purchase media– Ratings and research– Rate discounts – Accuracy/invoice reconciliation– Added value– Experienced staff

Page 66: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

ZLRIGNITION Contact Information

• Contact Andrea Marinaro for media– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]

• Contact Nick Grant for creative orders– 515-244-4456 – [email protected]

Page 67: Iowa Department of Public Health SPF SIG Substance Abuse Media Webinar

Q&A