product management by numbers: using metrics to optimize your product by dan olsen

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Dan Olsen Dan Olsen CEO & Founder, YourVersion CEO & Founder, YourVersion Dec 17, 2008 Dec 17, 2008 Product Management by Numbers: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics to Optimize your Product Using Metrics to Optimize your Product Copyright Copyright © © 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

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Best practices in using metrics to optimize your web product. I gave this webinar on Dec 17, 2008, as part of FeaturePlan's series "The Product Management View".

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Page 1: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC11

Dan OlsenDan OlsenCEO & Founder, YourVersionCEO & Founder, YourVersionDec 17, 2008Dec 17, 2008

Product Management by Numbers:Product Management by Numbers:Using Metrics to Optimize your ProductUsing Metrics to Optimize your Product

CopyrightCopyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Page 2: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Using Metrics to Optimize your ProductUsing Metrics to Optimize your Product

Product ManagementProduct Management’’s Roles Role

Integrating metrics & optimizationIntegrating metrics & optimization

Using metrics to optimize value creationUsing metrics to optimize value creationBusiness ValueBusiness Value

Customer ValueCustomer Value

UI DesignUI Design

Illustrate with real world examplesIllustrate with real world examples

Page 3: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

My BackgroundEducation

BS, Electrical Engineering, NorthwesternMS, Industrial Engineering, Virginia TechMBA, StanfordPHP, MySQL, JavaScript, XHTML, CSS, UI design

17 years of Product Management ExperienceManaged submarine design for 5 years5 years at Intuit, led Quicken Product ManagementLed Product Management at FriendsterOlsen Solutions LLC, PM consultant for start‐upsCEO & Founder of YourVersion, Social Discovery start‐up

Page 4: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Product ManagementProduct Management’’s s RoleRole

Page 5: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

A Product Manager by any Other Name Would Smell as Sweet

Product managers are sometimes calledProduct marketing manager

Program manager

Project manager

Label and definition of role can varyBased on industry or company

Based on B2C (consumer) vs. B2B (enterprise)

Based on stage of company

Can be area of responsibility vs. actual position

Page 6: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Product Management isCritical Link in Value Creation

Market• Current customers

• Prospectivecustomers

• Competitors

Product Management

Development Team

Page 7: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

A Process View of Product Management

BusinessStrategy

ProductStrategy

BusinessObjectives

ProductObjectives

ProductDevelopment

Service/Support

Market/Sell

LongTerm

ShortTerm

“Inbound”Product

Management“Outbound”

Product Management

Page 8: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

PM’s Job: A Successful ProductKnow market and customer better than anyone elseTranslate business objectives and customer needs into product requirementsBe the clearinghouse for all product ideas Identify, plan & prioritize product ideas to maximize ROI on engineering resourcesWork with team to design and build a great productEvangelize product within and outside the companyKeep the product team motivated

Page 9: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Integrating Metrics and Integrating Metrics and Optimization into your Optimization into your 

Product ProcessProduct Process

Page 10: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Adding Metrics and Optimization to your Product Process

PlanPlan

DesignDesign

DevelopDevelop

BusinessObjectives

ProductObjectives

Prioritized Feature List

Scoping

Requirements & Design

Code Test Launch

Site Level

Feature Level

OptimizeOptimize Metrics & User Feedback

Page 11: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Optimization through Iteration:Optimization through Iteration:Continuous ImprovementContinuous Improvement

Measurethe metric

Analyzethe metric

Identify top opportunitiesto improve

Design & develop  the enhancement

Launch theenhancement

Learning

Gaining knowledge:

• Market

• Customer

• Domain

• Usability

Page 12: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

OptimizingOptimizingBusiness Value Creation Business Value Creation 

with Metricswith Metrics

Page 13: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Approaching Business as an Approaching Business as an Optimization ExerciseOptimization Exercise

Given reality as it exists today,Given reality as it exists today,

optimize our business resultsoptimize our business results

subject to our resource constraints.subject to our resource constraints.

Page 14: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Profit = Profit = RevenueRevenue ‐‐ CostCost

Unique VisitorsUnique Visitors x  x  Ad Revenue per VisitorAd Revenue per Visitor

Impressions/VisitorImpressions/Visitor x  Effective CPM / 1000x  Effective CPM / 1000

Visits/Visitor  x  Visits/Visitor  x  PageviewsPageviews/Visit  x  Impressions/PV/Visit  x  Impressions/PV

New VisitorsNew Visitors + Returning Visitors+ Returning Visitors

Invited VisitorsInvited Visitors + Uninvited Visitors+ Uninvited Visitors

# of Users Sending Invites  x  Invites Sent/User  x  Invite Clic# of Users Sending Invites  x  Invites Sent/User  x  Invite Clickk‐‐through Ratethrough Rate

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Define the Equation of your BusinessDefine the Equation of your Business““Peeling the OnionPeeling the Onion””

Page 15: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

How to Track Your MetricsHow to Track Your Metrics

Track each metric as daily time seriesTrack each metric as daily time series

Create ratios from primary metrics:  X / YCreate ratios from primary metrics:  X / YExample: How good is your registration page?Example: How good is your registration page?Okay:Okay: # of registered users per day# of registered users per dayBetter:Better: registration conversion rate =registration conversion rate =

# registered users / # # registered users / # uniquesuniques to to regreg pagepage

DateDateUnique Unique VisitorsVisitors

Page Page viewsviews

Ad Ad RevenueRevenue

New User New User SignSign‐‐upsups ……

4/24/084/24/08 10,10010,100 29,60029,600 2525 490490

4/25/084/25/08 10,50010,500 27,10027,100 2424 480480

……

Page 16: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Sample Signup Page Yield DataSample Signup Page Yield Data

Daily Signup Page Yield vs. TimeNew Registered Users divided by Unique Visitors to Signup Page

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

1/31 2/14 2/28 3/14 3/28 4/11 4/25 5/9 5/23 6/6 6/20 7/4 7/18 8/1 8/15 8/29 9/12 9/26 10/10

Dai

ly S

ignu

p Pa

ge Y

ield

Changedmessaging

Added questionsto signup page

Started requiringregistration

Page 17: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Using Metrics to Optimize the Using Metrics to Optimize the Equation of your BusinessEquation of your Business

What are the metrics for your business?What are the metrics for your business?Where is current value for each metric? Where is current value for each metric? How many resources to How many resources to ““movemove”” each metric?each metric?

DeveloperDeveloper‐‐hours, time, moneyhours, time, moneyWhich metrics have highest ROI opportunities?Which metrics have highest ROI opportunities?

Return

Return

InvestmentInvestment

Return

Return

InvestmentInvestmentRe

turn

Return

InvestmentInvestment

Metric AMetric AGood ROIGood ROI

Metric BMetric BBad ROIBad ROI

Metric CMetric CGreat ROIGreat ROI

Page 18: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

• Which metric has highest ROI opportunity?

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Case Study:Case Study:Optimizing Viral Loop MetricsOptimizing Viral Loop Metrics

ActiveUsers

Prospective Users

Invite Click

Succeed

Inviteclick-through rate

Conversion rate

Don’t Click

Fail

Invites per sender

% of users sending invites

• Multiplied together, these metrics determine your viral ratio

Users

% of users who are active

= 15% = 2.3

= 85%

Registration Process

Page 19: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Maximum Upside Potential of a MetricMaximum Upside Potential of a Metric

0

100%

Registration conversion rate

0

100%

% of users sending invitations

0

?

Avg # of invites sent per sender

2.3

85%

15%

Max possible improvement

0.15 / 0.85 = 18% 0.85 / 0.15 = 570% ? / 2.3 = ?%

Page 20: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Doubling Number of Invitations Sent per Sender by Doubling Number of Invitations Sent per Sender by Adding Address Book ImporterAdding Address Book Importer

Page 21: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

OptimizingOptimizingCustomer Value Creation Customer Value Creation 

with Metricswith Metrics

Page 22: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

The Fuzzy Math of Customer ValueThe Fuzzy Math of Customer Value

You create customer value with a product thatYou create customer value with a product thatSatisfies customersSatisfies customers’’ needsneedsIs easy to useIs easy to useHas a good priceHas a good priceIs better than other alternativesIs better than other alternatives

Not fuzzy: # of users and frequency of useNot fuzzy: # of users and frequency of useApplying metrics approach to customer valueApplying metrics approach to customer value

Need framework of user needs & satisfactionNeed framework of user needs & satisfactionQuantitative: site analytics, usage metrics, surveysQuantitative: site analytics, usage metrics, surveysQualitative: 1Qualitative: 1‐‐onon‐‐1 user feedback sessions  are best1 user feedback sessions  are best

Page 23: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Is the site up when I want to use it?

Is the site fast enough?

Does the functionality work?

Does the functionality meet my needs?

Olsen’s Hierarchy of Web User Needs(adapted from Maslow)

Customer’s Perspective What does it mean to us?

Uptime

Page Load Time

Absence of Bugs

Feature Set

Usability & Design

Decreasing

Dissatisfaction

Increasing S

atisfaction

How easy to use is it?

Page 24: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Kano Model: User Needs & Satisfaction

User SatisfactionUser Satisfaction

User DissatisfactionUser Dissatisfaction

Performance Performance (more is better)(more is better)

Delighter (wow)Delighter (wow)

NeedNeednot metnot met

NeedNeedfully metfully met

Must HaveMust Have

Needs & features Needs & features migrate over timemigrate over time

Page 25: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Importance vs. SatisfactionAsk Users to Rate for Each Feature

98

8784

8679 847055 80

7280

75

4150

55

60

65

70

75

80

85

90

95

100

40 50 60 70 80 90 100

Satisfaction

Impo

rtan

ce

Recommended reading: “What Customers Want” by Anthony Ulwick

BadBad

GreatGreat

Page 26: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

What is Your Value Proposition?What is Your Value Proposition?

Which user benefits are most important?Which user benefits are most important?How well does your product deliver?How well does your product deliver?

Benefit 1

ImportanceImportanceto Userto User

Current UserCurrent UserSatisfactionSatisfaction

Benefit 2

User BenefitUser BenefitUpsideUpside

PotentialPotential

Benefit 4

Benefit 5

Benefit 6

High

High

Med

Low

Low

Low High – +

Doesn’t matter

Benefit 3 Lowopportunity

opportunity

?

?

Page 27: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Analyzing Product Ideas by ROIAnalyzing Product Ideas by ROI

Investment (developer-weeks)

Ret

urn

(Val

ue C

reat

ed)

Idea C

Idea B

Idea D

Idea A

Idea F

1

1

2 3 4

2

3

4?

Page 28: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Prioritizing Product Ideas by ROIPrioritizing Product Ideas by ROI

Investment (developer-weeks)

Ret

urn

(Val

ue C

reat

ed)

Idea B

Idea A

Idea C

1

1

2 3 4

2345678

5

Page 29: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

The UI Design IcebergThe UI Design Iceberg

VisualDesign

InteractionDesign

InformationArchitecture

ConceptualDesign

Recommended reading: Jesse James Garrett’s“Elements of User Experience” chart, free at www.jjg.net

What most people seeand react to

What good PMs and Designers think about

Page 30: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

UI questions are never yes/no! (not binary)UI questions are never yes/no! (not binary)Should ask: Should ask: ““What percentage of users What percentage of users ……??””UI changes impact your metricsUI changes impact your metrics

Impact can be positive, negative, small, largeImpact can be positive, negative, small, largeSeek highSeek high‐‐ROI UI changesROI UI changes

Approaching UI Design AnalyticallyApproaching UI Design Analytically

Typical UI design question:Typical UI design question:““When using web pages, do users scroll down?When using web pages, do users scroll down?””

‐‐ YesYes‐‐ NoNo

Page 31: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Put Key Conversion Actions Above The FoldPut Key Conversion Actions Above The Fold

Landing Page ALanding Page A Landing Page BLanding Page B

Key conversion action is above the fold

Key conversion action is below the fold

The Fold

Page 32: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

The Fold: “Chrome” Takes Away Pixels

768pixels

1024 pixels

Only 600

pixels

Page 33: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

The Fold IsnThe Fold Isn’’t Binary Eithert Binary Either

600 px

768 px

1024 px

Data courtesy of Data courtesy of ClickTaleClickTaleFree trial at Free trial at www.clicktale.comwww.clicktale.com

% of U

sers The chrome steals 

about 170 pixels

Page 34: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Analyze User Screen Height Distributionto Select Design Height for Key Pages

1030, 5%

866, 25%

600, 100%

1024, 20%

1000, 20%

864, 29%

807, 29%

768, 92%

772, 38%

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

90%

100%

600 650 700 750 800 850 900 950 1000 1050 1100Monitor Screen Height (pixels)

% o

f U

sers

with

Giv

en (o

r Hig

her)

Scr

een

Hei

ght

Going above768 px = big drop 

Page Design Height (pixels)

Page 35: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Case Study: Account Signup Process RedesignCase Study: Account Signup Process Redesign

100%

62.3%58.8%

50.9%

34.4% 32.7%

0%

20%

40%

60%

80%

100%

% of U

sers

% of U

sers

Sign in /Sign in /RegistrationRegistration

Account Account TypeType

Cash vs.Cash vs.MarginMargin

5 Partner5 PartnerPagesPages

3 Partner3 PartnerPagesPages

Biggest drop

Page 36: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

OpenAccount

Sign in

Account Selection

Register

56%

44%

Forget Password

Registration Process

45% drop off(20% of total)

36% overall drop off for this step

70%(32% of Total)

17% drop off (10% of total)

20% drop off(6% of total)

30%(14% of Total)

80%(26% of Total)

55%(24% of Total)

64%of Total

Analysis of Sign In/Registration FlowAnalysis of Sign In/Registration Flow

Change Password

83%(46% of Total)

Page 37: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Abandonment Rate (7 Day Moving Average)

0%

10%

20%

30%

40%

50%

60%

70%

80%

10/7

/02

10/1

4/02

10/2

1/02

10/2

8/02

11/4

/02

11/1

1/02

11/1

8/02

11/2

5/02

12/2

/02

12/9

/02

12/1

6/02

12/2

3/02

12/3

0/02

1/6/

03

1/13

/03

1/20

/03

Aba

ndon

men

t Rat

e (7

Day

Mov

ing

Ave

rage

)

Steps 1-2

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Redesigned User Flow Improved Redesigned User Flow Improved Registration Conversion RateRegistration Conversion Rate

37% improvement in conversion rate

ReleasedNew Design

Page 38: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

Product Management by NumbersProduct Management by NumbersCheat SheetCheat Sheet

Define what success meansDefine what success meansCustomer value propositionCustomer value proposition

Equation of your businessEquation of your business

Instrument your site and track key metricsInstrument your site and track key metrics

Identify opportunities and prioritize by ROIIdentify opportunities and prioritize by ROI

Launch, learn, and iterateLaunch, learn, and iterate

Page 39: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Discover ShareBookmark

YourVersion proactively discovers relevant web content for you based on your interests.

Page 40: Product Management by Numbers: Using Metrics To Optimize Your Product by Dan Olsen

Copyright Copyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC4040 CopyrightCopyright ©© 2008 Olsen Solutions LLC2008 Olsen Solutions LLC

[email protected]@yourversion.comwww.yourversion.comwww.yourversion.com