quantify your roi to customers at blogher '13

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Quantify Your ROI to Customers

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Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13 https://www.blogher.com/quantify-your-roi-customers

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Page 1: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

Quantify Your ROI to Customers

Page 2: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Quantify Your ROI to Customers

JULIE YAMAMOTOCMD, @JulieY

INSTRUCTOR

Page 3: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

A likely scenario …

• Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.”

• Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with.

• Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?”

• And you say …

Page 4: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Know your audience targeting

• Demographic: Gender, age, geography• Psychographic: Behavioral information

that deepens our understanding of the audience

• Persona: Named individual who personifies the target

Page 5: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Page 6: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Metrics that matter

• Metrics or analytics: Any data that shows marketing performance

• Impressions: Opportunity to view content• Reach: Individual users or social accounts reached by content• Engagement: User actions, such as clicks, likes, comments• CPM: Cost per 1,000 impressions• CPA: Cost per acquisition or sign up• Sentiment: Expressed as positive, negative or neutral, may be

reported in a quantitative or qualitative manner

Page 7: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Know your key metrics

• Unique visitors: Expressed by day, week or month• Clickthroughs (CTs): User clicks on a specific call to action (CTA)• Click rate (CR) = Clicks to your content / Impressions x 100 .20% considered baseline/good • Clickthrough rate (CTR) = Clicks to brand / clicks to your content x

100 10% is highly desirable• Link tagging: Links with analytics tracking built in to the URL

Page 8: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Overall Campaign Performance

Total Impressions 1,785,423

Total Clicks 14092

Average Click Rate 0.79%

Total Click-Throughs 1393

Average CTR 9.89%

Average Time Spent (sec) 121

Total Time Spent (sec) 1704678

Total Shares 205

Total Video Views 3,901

Total Budget $22,690.00

Total Spend to date $17,854.23

CPA (representative of Click-Throughs to site) $12.82

Page 9: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Know where you fit in the sales funnel

Awareness

Interest

Consideration

Preference

“Unboxing,” contestsMetrics: Impressions, reachSampling, couponingMetric: Engagement

Head-to-head product trialMetric: Engagement, clickthroughs to brand siteExclusive offers, bundlesMetric: Sales, CPA, sentiment

Page 10: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Required

Key elements of your proposal

• Introduce yourself and your community• What works well for you (examples)• What you plan to do, specifically• Measurable metrics that are expected• Cost

Page 11: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Sample influencer proposal

• Program Concept: Select 4 Influencers who reach the target (two from the Connected Mom target and two from the Steady Mom target) to participate in the "Creating Memories with your Child" Influencer Activation program.

• Participating Influencers will each be given the product to use in their homes. They will create highly pinnable post with DIY tutorials with video (not professionally produced, most probably with their iPhones).

• Reader Engagement: The selected Influencers will include a call-to-action within the post to drive readers to the brand site (or any other destination based on client feedback) and to promote in-store traffic.

• Audience Activation: To further engage their readers, each Influencer will pose a question at the end of her post (example: "How do you inspire creativity with your child?") to encourage readers to comment for a chance to win a sweepstakes prize.

Page 12: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Key elements of your recap report

Mandatory:• What you plan to do, specifically What you did• Measurable metrics that are expected Actual performance• Cost ROI expressed as CPM or CPA, for exampleRecommended:• What tactic was the most successful and why• Other influencers who shared campaign content• Recommendations for next time

Page 13: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Sample recap reportPublished a total of 17 tweets from July 5-11 during a giveawayTotal impressions: 390,200 Twitter giveaway impressions: 242,800Total giveaway entries: 210

What’s the CPM?CPM = (Cost of 1 Unit of a Media Program) / (Size of Media Program's Audience) x 1,000CPM = $2,000 / 390,200 x 1,000CPM = $5.12

Page 14: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

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Sample recap report

Page 15: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Sample recap report

Page 16: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Page 17: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Tool try-outs

1. Browse to Tweetreach.com2. Enter a hashtag – try #BlogHer13 or another you like3. Sign in with your Twitter account

Page 18: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Tweetreach

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Tool try-outs

1. Open a browser window2. Paste any bit.ly link and add a + sign at the end of the URL3. Enter to see # of CTs on the link, as reported by bit.ly

Try bit.ly/1aaEAqE

Page 20: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Recommended Wordpress Plug Ins

• Google Analytics Tutorial: http://youtu.be/mm78xlsADgc Discussion: http://www.blogher.com/google-analytics-you• Native WordPress analytics• Intermediate: Select a comment analytics tool• Advanced: AWStats as a backup - AWStats is a server log

analyzer and a good last resort if something goes wrong with Google.

Page 21: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Required

Preparing to work with brands

• Put your bio, audience targeting and key community metrics in a PPT file, ready to share

• Add a slide profiling a previous, successful campaign as an example

• Sketch out your common community activities and where they fit in the funnel

• Identify your top 3 activities that garner the most engagement in our community

Page 22: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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A few words about contests …

Pay attention to:• Platform• Contest administrator• Prize cost and fulfillment• Terms and Conditions• Indemnification

Page 23: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

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Savvy questions you should ask

• Do you view this as an awareness program, or do you want to work with audiences who are farther down the sales funnel?

• Is a contest part of the program? • What’s your list of SEO keywords, so I can optimize my

content?• Are you going to provide me with tagged links?• How frequently do you need metrics reports? What format?• What does success look like to you?• Your contract or mine?

Page 24: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

A likely scenario …

• Brand X is introducing a new widget, and they want a social tactic that will go “viral.”

• Brand X’s agency sells an “influencer strategy” and gets some budget to work with.

• Brand X’s agency contacts you: “We saw your sponsored content and love it. Want to work with us on our campaign?”

• And you say …

Page 25: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

#BH13ROIINTERNET SSID: BlogHer | No Password

Required

Quantify Your ROI to Customers

JULIE YAMAMOTOCMD, @JulieY

INSTRUCTOR

Page 26: Quantify Your ROI to Customers at BlogHer '13

“BlogHer is a snake meal of

ideas in a wonton wrapper of

love. Afterwards you need a 2-

day nap, then it nourishes you

for a year.”– @debontherocks