recommender systems: the art and science of matching items to users - a linkedin open data talk by...

70
Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users Deepak Agarwal [email protected] LinkedIn, 7 th July, 2011

Upload: anmol-bhasin

Post on 10-May-2015

4.671 views

Category:

Technology


2 download

DESCRIPTION

Algorithmically matching items to users in a given context is essential for the success and profitability of large scale recommender systems like content optimization, computational advertising, search, shopping, movie recommendation, and many more. The objective is to maximize some utility (e.g. total revenue, total engagement) of interest over a long time horizon. This is a bandit problem since there is positive utility in displaying items that may have low mean but high variance. A key challenge in such bandit problems is the curse of dimensionality. Bandit problems are also difficult to work with for responses that are observed with considerable delay (e.g. return visits, confirmation of a buy). One approach is to optimize multiple competing objectives in the short-term to achieve the best long-term performance. For instance, in serving content to users on a website, one may want to optimize some combination of clicks and downstream advertising revenue in the short-term to maximize revenue in the long-run. In this talk, I will discuss some of the technical challenges by focusing on a concrete application - content optimization on the Yahoo! front page. I will also briefly discuss response prediction techniques for serving ads on the RightMedia Ad exchange.Bio: Deepak Agarwal is a statistician at Yahoo! who is interested in developing statistical and machine learning methods to enhance the performance of large scale recommender systems. Deepak and his collaborators significantly improved article recommendation on several Yahoo! websites, most notably on the Yahoo! front page (a 200+% improvement in click-rates). He also works closely with teams in computational advertising to deploy elaborate statistical models on the RightMedia Ad Exchange, yet another large scale recommender system. He currently serves as associate editor for the Journal of American Statistical Association (JASA) and IEEE Transaction on Knowledge discovery and Data Engineering (TKDE).

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users

Deepak [email protected]

LinkedIn, 7th July, 2011

Page 2: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

2Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Recommender Systems

Serve the “right” item to users in an automated fashion to optimize long-term business objectives

Page 3: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

3Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Content Optimization: Match articles to users

Page 4: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

4Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Advertising: Recommend Ads on Pages

Displa

y/G

raph

ical A

d

Contextual Advertis

ing

Page 5: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

5Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Shopping: Recommend Related Items to buy

Page 6: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

6Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Recommend Movies

Page 7: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

7Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Recommend People

Page 8: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

8Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Problem Definition

USER

Item InventoryArticles, web page,

ads, …

Construct an automated algorithm to select item(s) to show

Get feedback (click, time-spent,rating, buy,…)

Refine parameters of the algorithm

Repeat (large number of times)Optimize metric(s) of interest

(Total clicks, Total revenue,…)

Low Marginal cost per serve, Efficient and intelligent systems can

provide significant improvements

Example applications Content, Movie, Advertising, Shopping,….. Context

page, previous item viewed,

Page 9: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

9Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Data Mining → Clever Algorithms

• So much data, enough to process it all and process it fast? • Ideally, we want to learn every user-item interaction

– Number of things to learn increases with data size

– Dynamic nature exacerbates the problem– We want to learn things quickly in order to react fast

Page 10: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

10Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Simple Approach: Segment Users/Items

UsersItem/item segments

User segments

Estimate CTR of items in each user segment

Serve most popular item in segment

i

j

CTRij = clicksij/viewsij

Page 11: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

11Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Example Application: Yahoo! front page

Recommend most popular article on slot F1 (out of 30-40, editorially programmed)

Can collect data every 5 minutes

Should be simple, just count clicks and views, right?

Not quite!

F1 F2 F3 F4

Today module

NEWS

Page 12: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

12Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Simple algorithm we began with

• Initialize CTR of every new article to some high number– This ensures a new article has a chance of being shown

• Show the most popular CTR article (randomly breaking ties) for each user visit in the next 5 minutes

• Re-compute the global article CTRs after 5 minutes• Show the new most popular for next 5 minutes• Keep updating article popularity over time

• Quite intuitive. Did not work! Performance was bad. Why?

Page 13: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

13Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Bias in the data: Article CTR decays over time

• This is what an article CTR curve looked like

We were computing CTR by cumulating clicks and views. – Missing decay dynamics? Dynamic growth model using a Kalman filter. – New model tracked decay very well, performance still bad

• And the plot thickens, my dear Watson!

Page 14: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

14Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Explanation of decay: Repeat exposure

• User Fatigue → CTR Decay

Page 15: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

15Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Clues to solve the mystery

• Users seeing an article for the first time have higher CTR, those being exposed have lower– but we use the same CTR estimate for all ?

• Other sources of bias? How to adjust for them?• A simple idea to remove bias

– Display articles at random to a small randomly chosen population• Call this the Random bucket• Randomization removes bias in data

– (Charles Pierce,1877; R.A. Fisher, 1935)• Some other observations

– Sticking with an article for complete 5 minutes was degrading performance, many bad articles got displayed too many times

– Reaction time to display good articles was slower

Page 16: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

16Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

CTR of same article with/without randomization

Serving bucket Random bucket

DecayTime-of-Day

Page 17: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

17Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

CTR of articles in Random bucket

• Track

Unbiased CTR, but it is dynamic. Simply counting clicks and views still didn’t won’t work well.

Page 18: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

18Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

New algorithm

• Create a small random bucket which selects one out of K existing articles at random for each user visit

• Learn unbiased article popularity using random bucket data by tracking (through a non-linear Kalman filter)

Serve the most popular article in the serving bucket• Override rules: Don’t show an article to a user after few

previous exposures, other rules (diversity, voice),….

Page 19: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

19Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Other advantages

• The random bucket ensures continuous flow of data for all articles, we quickly discard bad articles and converge to the best one

• This saved the day, the project was a success!– Initial click-lift 40% (Agarwal et al. NIPS 08) – after 3 years it is 200+% (fully deployed on Yahoo! front

page and elsewhere on Yahoo!), we are still improving the system

Page 20: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

20Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

More Details

• Agarwal, Chen, Elango, Ramakrishnan, Motgi, Roy, Zachariah. Online models for Content Optimization, NIPS 2008

• Agarwal, Chen, Elango. Spatio-Temporal Models for Estimating Click-through Rate, WWW 2009

Page 21: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

21Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Lessons learnt

• It is ok to start with simple models that learn a few things, but beware of the biases inherent in your data– E.g. of things gone wrong

• Learning article popularity – Data used from 5am-8am pst, served from 10am-1pm pst – Bad idea if article popular on the east, not on the west

• Randomization is a friend, use it when you can. Update the models fast, this may reduce the bias– User visit patterns close in time are similar

• What if we can’t afford complete randomization?– Learn how to gamble

Page 22: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

22Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Why learn how to gamble?

• Consider a slot machine with two arms

p2(unknown payoff

probabilities)

The gambler has 1000 plays, what is the best way to experiment ? (to maximize total expected reward)

This is called the “bandit” problem, have been studied for a long time.

Optimal solution: Play the arm that has maximum potential of being good

p1 >

Page 23: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

23Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Recommender Problems: Bandits?

• Two Items: Item 1 CTR= 2/100 ; Item 2 CTR= 250/10000– Greedy: Show Item 2 to all; not a good idea– Item 1 CTR estimate noisy; item could be potentially better

• Invest in Item 1 for better overall performance on average

• This is also referred to as Explore/exploit problem– Exploit what is known to be good, explore what is potentially good

CTR

Pro

babi

lity

dens

ity Article 2

Article 1

Page 24: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

24Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Bayes optimal solution in next 5 mins 2 articles, 1 uncertain

Uncertainty in CTR: pseudo #views

Opt

imal

allo

catio

n to

unc

erta

in a

rtic

le

Page 25: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

25Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

More Details on the Bayes Optimal Solution

• Agarwal, Chen, Elango. Explore-Exploit Schemes for Web Content Optimization, ICDM 2009 – (Best Research Paper Award)

Page 26: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

26Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Recommender Problems: bandits in a casino

• Items are arms of bandits, ratings/CTRs are unknown payoffs– Goal is to converge to the best CTR item quickly– But this assumes one size fits all (no personalization)

• Personalization– Each user is a separate bandit– Hundreds of millions of bandits (huge casino)

• Rich literature (several tutorials on the topic)– Broadly : Clever/adaptive randomization– Our random bucket is a solution, often a good one in practice.

Page 27: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

27Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Back to the number of things to learn (curse of dimensionality)

• Pros of learning things at granular resolutions– Better estimates of affinities at event level

• (ad 77 has high CTR on publisher 88, instead of ad 77 has good CTR on sports publisher)

– Bias becomes less problematic• The more we chop, less prone we are to aggregating dissimilar

things, less biased our estimates.

• Challenges– Too much sparsity to learn everything at granular resolutions

• We don’t have that much traffic• E.g. many ads are not even shown on many publishers

– Explore/exploit helps but cannot do so much experimentation– In advertising, response rates (conversion, click) are too low,

further exacerbates the problem

Page 28: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

28Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Solution: Go granular but with back-off

• Too little data at granular level, need to borrow from coarse resolutions with abundant data (smoothing, shrinkage)

0/5

1. Pub-id=88, ad-id=77, zip=Palo Alto

2/20040/1000

400/10000200/5000

12. Pub-id=88, adv-id=911. Palo Alto

111. Bay Area121. Adv-id=9

CTR(1) = w1(0/5)+ w11(2/200) +w12(40/1000)+w121(200/5000) +w111(400/10000)

Page 29: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

29Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Sometimes too much data at granular level

100/50000

1. Pub-id=88, ad-id=80, zip=Arizona

….……

12. Pub-id=88, adv-id=811. Arizona

No need to back-off

CTR(1) = 100/50000

Page 30: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

30Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

How much to borrow from ancestors?

• Learning the weights when there is little data• Depends on heterogeneity in CTRs of small cells

– Ancestors with similar CTR child nodes are more credible

• E.g. if all zip-codes in Bay Area have similar CTRs, more weights given to Bay Area node– Pool similar cells, separate dissimilar ones

Bay Area

Palo Alto

Mtn View

Las Gatos

Page 31: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

31Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Crucial issue

• Obtain grouping structures to perform effective back-off

BUT• How do we detect such groupings when dealing with high

dimensional data?– Billions/trillions of possible attribute combinations

• Statistical modeling to the rescue– Art and science, requires experience. – Important to understand the business, the problem, the data.

Page 32: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

33Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

TWO EXAMPLES OF LEARNING GRANULAR

MODELS WITH BACK-OFF

Page 33: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

34Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Online Advertising: Matching ads to opportunities

Ad

vert

iser

s

Ad Network

Ads

Page

Pick best ads

User

Publisher

Examples:Yahoo, Google,

MSN,

Ad exchanges(network

of “networks”) …

Opportunity

Page 34: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

35Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

How to Select “Best” ads

Ad

vert

iser

s

Ad Network

Ads

Page

Pick best ads

User

Publisher

Response rates(click, conversion,ad-view)

Bids

Auction

Click

conversion

Select argmax f(bid,rate)

Statisticalmodel

Page 35: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

36Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

The Ad Exchange: Unified Marketplace

Transparency and value

Has ad impression to sell --AUCTIONS

Bids $0.50Bids $0.75 via Network…

… which becomes $0.45 bid

Bids $0.65—WINS!

AdSenseAd.com

Bids $0.60

Page 36: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

37Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Advertising example

• f(bid, rate) ---- rate is unknown, needs to be estimated• Goal: maximize revenue, advertiser ROI• High dimensional rate estimation

• Response obtained through interaction among few heavy-tailed categorical variables (pub, user, and ad)– #levels : could be millions and changes over time

),,|( juiyF

( pub, user)ad

Page 37: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

38Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Data

• Features available for both opportunity and ad– Publisher: Publisher content type – User: demographics, geo,…– Ad: Industry, text/video, text (if any)

• Hierarchically organized– Publisher hierarchy: URL → Domain → Publisher type– Geo hierarchy for users– Ad hierarchy: Ad → Campaign → Advertiser

• Past empirical analysis (Agarwal et al, KDD 2007)– Hierarchical grouping provides homogeneity in rates– Here, groupings available through domain knowledge

Page 38: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

39Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Model Setup

i j

xi, xjB( )Piuj = λij

baseline

residual

Eij = ∑u B(xi , xu,xj) (Expected Success)

Sij ~ Poisson(Eij λij)

MLE ( Sij /Eij ) does not work well

,

xu,

Page 39: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

40Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Hierarchical Smoothing of residuals

• Assuming two hierarchies (Publisher and advertiser)

Pub-class

Pub-id

Advertiser

Conv-id

campaign

Ad-idcell (i,j)

(Sij, Eij, λij)

Page 40: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

41Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Back-off Model

campaign

Pub-class

Pub-id

Advertiser

Conv-id

Ad-id

(Sij, Eij, λij)i j

7 neighbors3 blues, 4 greens

3214321 bbbggggredij

Back-off is through parameter sharingBlues and greens are neighbors of several reds

Page 41: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

42Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Ad- exchange (RightMedia)

• Advertisers participate in different ways– CPM (pay by ad-view)– CPC (pay per click)– CPA (pay per conversion)

• To conduct an auction, normalize across pricing types– Compute eCPM (expected CPM)

• Click-based eCPM = click-rate*CPC• Conversion-based eCPM = conv-rate*CPA

Page 42: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

43Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Data

• Two kinds of conversion rates– Post-Click conv-rate = click-rate*conv/click– Post-View conv-rate = conv/ad-view

• Three response rate models– Click-rate (CLICK), conv/click (PCC), – post-view conv/view (PVC)

Page 43: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

44Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Datasets : Right-Media

• CLICK [~90B training events, ~100M parameters]• Post Click Conversion(PCC) (~.5B training events,~81M

parameters)• PVC – Post-View conversions (~7B events, ~6M

parameters)– Cookie gets augmented with pixel, trigger conversion when user

visits the landing page

• Features– Age, gender, ad-size, pub-class, user fatigue– 2 hierarchies (publisher and advertiser)

• Two baselines– Pubid x adid [FINE] (no hierarchical information)– Pubid x advertiser [COARSE] (collapse cells)

Page 44: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

45Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Accuracy: Average test log-likelihood

Page 45: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

46Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

More Details

• Agarwal, Kota, Agrawal, Khanna: Estimating Rates of Rare Events with Multiple Hierarchies through Scalable Log-linear Models, KDD 2010

Page 46: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

47Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Back to Yahoo! front page

Recommend articles: Image Title, summary Links to other pages

For each user visit, Pick 4 out of a pool of K

Routes traffic to other pages

1 2 3 4

Page 47: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

48Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

DATA

article j with

User i withuser features xi(demographics,browse history,search history, …)

item features xj

(keywords, content categories, ...)

(i, j) : response yijvisits

Algorithm selects

(rating or click/no-click)

Page 48: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

49Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Bipartite Graph completion problem

UsersArticles

no-click

click

Observed Graph

• Users

• Articles

PredictedCTR Graph

Page 49: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

50Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Factor Model to estimate CTR at granular levels

i j

ui vji

User popularity

jItem popularity

r

kjkikjiijij vupCTR

1

1))exp(1(

Page 50: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

51Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Estimating granular latent factors via back-off

• If user/item have high degree, good estimates of factors available else we need back-off

• Back-off: We use user/item features through regressions

Age=old Geo=Mtn-View Int=Ski

Uik = G1k 1(Agei=old) + G2k 1(Geoi=Mtn-View) + G3k 1(Inti=Ski)

• Weights of 8 different fallbacks using 3 parameters

Page 51: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

52Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Estimates with back-off

• For new user/article, factor estimates based on features

• For old user/article, factor estimates

• Linear combination of regression and user “ratings”

itemnewnew

usernewnew DG xvxu

,

)()(Rest)|( 1'

ii Nj

jijuseri

Njjji RGIE vxvvu

jiijij yR

Page 52: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

53Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Estimating the back-off Regression function

j i j

jiji

ijiij

ddDgGgDataf vuvuvu )),(),(),,((

Maximize

Integral cannot be computed in closed form, approximated by Monte Carlo using Gibbs Sampling

Page 53: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

54Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Data Example

• 2M binary observations by 30K heavy users on 4K articles– Heavy user ---- at least 30 visits to the portal in last 5 months

• Article features– Editorially labeled category information (~50 binary features)

• User features– Demographics, browse behavior (~1K features)

• Training/test split by timestamp of events (75/25)• Methods

– Factor model with regression, no online updates– Factor model with regression + online updates– Online model based on user-user similarity (Online-UU)– Online probabilistic latent semantic index (Online-PLSI)

Page 54: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

55Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

ROC curve

Factor model: regression + online updates

Factor model: regression only

Page 55: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

56Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

More Details

• Agarwal and Chen: Regression Based Latent Factor Models, KDD 2009

Page 56: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

57Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Computation

• Both models run on Hadoop, scalable to large datasets

• For the factor models, also working on online EM – Collaboration with Andrew Cron, Duke University

Page 57: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

58Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

MULTI-OBJECTIVESBEYOND CLICKS

Page 58: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

59Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Post-click utilities

SPORTS

NEWS

OMG

FINANCE

Recommender

EDITORIAL

contentClicks on FP links influence downstream supply distribution

AD SERVER

PREMIUM DISPLAY (GUARANTEED)

NETWORK PLUS (Non-Guaranteed)

Downstream engagement

(Time spent)

Page 59: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

60Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Serving Content on Front Page: Click Shaping

• What do we want to optimize?• Usual: Maximize clicks (maximize downstream supply from FP)• But consider the following

– Article 1: CTR=5%, utility per click = 5 – Article 2: CTR=4.9%, utility per click=10

• By promoting 2, we lose 1 click/100 visits, gain 5 utils

• If we do this for a large number of visits --- lose some clicks but obtain significant gains in utility?– E.g. lose 5% relative CTR, gain 20% in utility (revenue, engagement, etc)

Page 60: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

61Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

How are Clicks being Shaped ?autos finance

health

hotjobs

movies

new.music

news

omgrealestate

rivals

shine

shopping

sports

tech

travel

tv

video

other

gmy.news

buzz

videogamesautos

finance

health

hotjobs

movies

new.music

news

omgrealestate

rivals

shine

shopping

sports

tech

travel

tv

video

other

videogames

buzz

gmy.news

-10.00%

-8.00%

-6.00%

-4.00%

-2.00%

0.00%

2.00%

4.00%

6.00%

8.00%

10.00%

Supply distributionChanges

BEFOREAFTER

SHAPING can happen with respect to multiple downstream metrics (like engagement, revenue,…)

Page 61: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

62Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’1162

Multi-Objective Optimization

A1

A2

An

n articles K properties

news

finance

omg

… …

S1

S2

Sm

m user segments

• CTR of user segment i on article j: pij

• Time duration of i on j: dij

known p ij, d ijx ij: variables

Page 62: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

63Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’1163

Multi-Objective Program

Scalarization

Goal Programming

Page 63: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

64Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Pareto-optimal solution (more in KDD 2011)

64

Page 64: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

65Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

More Details

• Agarwal, Chen, Elango, Wang: Click Shaping to Optimize Multiple Objectives, KDD 2011 (forthcoming)

Page 65: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

66Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Can we do it with Advertising Revenue?

• Yes, but need to be careful.– Interventions can cause undesirable long-term impact– Communication between two complex distributed systems

– Display advertising at Y! also sold as long-term guaranteed contracts

• We intervene to change supply when contract is at risk of under-delivering

• Research to be shared in the future

Page 66: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

67Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Summary

• Simple models that learn a few parameters are fine to begin with BUT beware of bias in data– Small amounts of randomization + fast model updates

• Clever Randomization using Explore/Exploit techniques

• Granular models are more effective but we need good statistical algorithms to provide back-off estimates

• Considering multi-objective optimization is often important

Page 67: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

68Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

A modeling strategy

Offline(Logistic, GBDT,..)Coarse and slow changing

components

Feature EngineeringContent: IR, clustering, taxonomy, entity,..

User profiles: clicks, views, social, community,..

Online(Fine resolution

Corrections)(item, user level)(Quick updates)

Explore/Exploit(Adaptive sampling)

Initialize

Page 68: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

69Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Indexing for fast retrieval at runtime

• Retrieving the top-k when item inventory is large in few a milli-seconds could be challenging for complex models

• Current work (joint with Maxim Guverich)– Approximate the model by an index friendly synthetic model– Index friendly model retrieves the top-K very fast, a second stage

evaluation on top-K retrieves the top-k ( K > k)– Research to be shared in a forthcoming paper

Page 69: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

70Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

Collaborators

• Bee-Chung Chen (Yahoo! Research, CA)• Pradheep Elango (Yahoo! Labs, CA)• Liang Zhang (Yahoo! Labs, CA)• Nagaraj Kota (Yahoo! Labs, India)• Xuanhui Wang (Yahoo! Labs, CA)• Rajiv Khanna (Yahoo! Labs, India)• Andrew Cron (Duke University)• Engineering & Product Teams (CA, India)

• Special thanks to Yahoo! Labs senior leadership for the support– Andrei Broder, Preston MacAfee ,Prabhakar Raghavan ,Raghu Ramakrishnan

Page 70: Recommender Systems: The Art and Science of Matching Items to Users - A LinkedIn open data talk by Deepak Agarwal from Yahoo Research!

71Deepak Agarwal @LinkedIn’11

• E-mail: [email protected]

Thank you !