roi of ppc

37
ROI of Paid Search by Trada Hashtag is #ROIofPPC

Upload: trada

Post on 06-May-2015

3.023 views

Category:

Business


0 download

DESCRIPTION

A presentation on determining if PPC is right for your company, how to calculate a Cost Per Action and how to improve the ROI of your PPC Campaign. Check out Trada Reviews here: http://www.trada.com/trada-reviews/

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: ROI of PPC

ROI of Paid Searchb y TradaHashtag is #ROIofPPC

Page 2: ROI of PPC

1. Intro2. Is PPC Right for Your

Company?3. Benefits of PPC4. Calculating Your CPA5. Achieving Better ROI6. About Trada

Hashtag is #ROIofPPC

Page 3: ROI of PPC

Meet Mike Ramsburg & Elaine Ellis

Mike RamsburgTradaAgency Program Managerhttp://www.trada.com

Elaine EllisTradaSocial Media/Marketing Managerhttp://www.trada.com

Page 4: ROI of PPC

Is PPC Right For Your Company?

Page 5: ROI of PPC

Is PPC Right For Your Company?Two basic ways people end up making

money with their websites. They sell something or they get a lead who 

eventually they can sell something to.

Page 6: ROI of PPC

E-CommerceWhen people search for a product your selling, having a PPC ad will ensure buyers find you. E-commerce sites are the most frequent users of search engine marketing.

Ingredients for Success: -Need a comprehensive keyword list for each product-Implement conversion tracking-Need proper landing pages-Manage inventory against ads running-Offer guarantees or special offers

Page 7: ROI of PPC

Lead GenerationUsing paid search for lead generation helps you find sales prospects who are interested in your service or product.

Ingredients for Success: -Need a comprehensive keyword list for each product or service -Implement conversion tracking-Need proper landing pages -Strong lead generation form-Offer an incentive-Make it easy to contact you

Page 8: ROI of PPC

BrandingBranding campaigns are for people looking for traffic without a specific call to action for visitors to take. It’s lacks the measurability of lead generation and e-commerce.

Ingredients for Success: -Use local targeting if applicable-Bid on your company and brand names-Create landing pages where appropriate

Page 9: ROI of PPC

Benefits of PPC

Page 10: ROI of PPC

Paid search is measurable from start to finish. Advertisers can track what keywords are being searched, clicks and if a buyer purchased a product from the click. Impressions: Each time the ad is viewed.

Cost-Per-Click: The cost for each click generated.

CPA: The cost per action – how much does it cost to get someone to take an action

Measurable

Page 11: ROI of PPC

A well executed PPC campaign sends targeted traffic to your site.

Plus, sites that rank both high in Paid and Organic results receive more clicks.

Traffic

Page 12: ROI of PPC

Increased impressions with paid search results. If they see your ad even if they don’t click, they have increased awareness of your company.

However, a word of caution: Having ads with high impressions and a low CTR will result in a decreased Google Quality Score.

Brand Recognition

Page 13: ROI of PPC

Paid search ads start running immediately and continue to run 24/7. Potential buyers or customers will always be able to find you.

24/7 Advertising

Page 14: ROI of PPC

PPC advertising has advanced controls:

Dayparting: You can choose to have your ads run only at certain times during the day.

Geolocation: You can target your ads to run in certain locations only.

Precision

Page 15: ROI of PPC

Calculating Your CPA

Page 16: ROI of PPC

Show Me The Money

So how much can you afford to spend?

Let’s figure out your Cost Per Action (CPA.) This is where an advertiser pays for each specified action (a purchase, a form submission, and so on) linked to the advertisement.

Page 17: ROI of PPC

Conversion Tracking

How it Works:Conversion tracking places code onto your site. Once the code is applied, conversion tracking places a cookie on a user's computer when he or she clicks on one of your ads. Then, if the user reaches one of your conversion pages, the cookie connects to your web page and conversion tracking records a successful conversion for you.

Page 18: ROI of PPC

Calculating Your Target CPA

1. Determine Your Conversion Rate2. Calculate Your Gross Profit3. Calculate Your Target CPA4. Calculate Your Net Profit5. Determine Maximum CPC

Page 19: ROI of PPC

Figure Out Your Conversion Rate

Conversions / Site Visits = Conversion Rate If a site received 4,000 site visits in a month, and generated 80 conversions, the conversion rate would be 2%. 80 / 4,000 = .02

Page 20: ROI of PPC

Calculate Your Gross Profit

Sales Price – Cost of Product = Gross Profit of Product So if your sales price is $125 and your cost to build the product is $65 then your gross profit is $60. $125 - $65 = $60

Page 21: ROI of PPC

Calculate Your Target CPA

Sales Price * Sales & Marketing Cost % = Target CPA So if you’re sales price is $125 and your sales and marketing margin percentage is 15%, your target CPA, including promotional costs, is $18.75. $125 * .15 = $18.75

Page 22: ROI of PPC

Calculate Your Net Profit

Gross Profit – Target CPA = Net Profit So if your gross profit is $60 and you subtract your target CPA of $18.75 then your net profit is $41.25. $60 - $18.75 = $41.25

Page 23: ROI of PPC

Determine Maximum CPC100/(100 * Conversion Rate %) = Required clicks to generate a conversion So if the conversion rate is 2%, then you’ll need 50 clicks to get a conversion. 100/(100 * .02) = 50 To calculate the maximum average cost per click your campaign can have, take your target CPA and divide it by your required clicks. Target CPA/Required Clicks = Max Avg CPC

Page 24: ROI of PPC

Budget

Page 25: ROI of PPC

Custom BudgetingEvery business has a different budget and needs. PPC advertising allows you to specify how much you want to spend on any given day or month. Custom budgets tailored just for your business.

Page 26: ROI of PPC

Fixed and Self-Funding Budgets

A fixed budget establishes a fixed amount you spend on PPC.

A self-funding budget is based on your ability to fund your PPC campaign by meeting specified sales goals.

Page 27: ROI of PPC

Achieving Better ROI

Page 28: ROI of PPC

The “Brakes” in PPC

What to do when your campaign isn’t working:

1. Keep an Eye on Costs2. Not All Clicks Are Equal3. Know When to Stop Spending4. A/B Test

Page 29: ROI of PPC

Watch Your Google Quality Score-The historical clickthrough rate (CTR) of the keyword and the

matched ad -CTR of all the ads and keywords in your account-The historical CTR of the display URLs in the ad group -The quality of the landing page-The relevance of the keyword to the ads in its ad group -The relevance of the keyword and the matched ad to the search query -Your account's performance in the geographical region where the ad will be shown

The higher your Quality Score, the lower your costs and the better your ad position.

Page 30: ROI of PPC

Investigate Long-Tail KeywordsLong-tail keywords are three or more words.

Traffic from long-tail keywords convert at a higher rate, and have a lower CPC, since demand for the keyword is lower.

Page 31: ROI of PPC

Good PPC = Good ROIChances are, the better your PPC, the better are your ROI. Keep these tips in mind.

Analyze the Data

Use Negative Keywords

Exact Match Over Broad Match

Page 32: ROI of PPC

A Few Words on Trada

Page 33: ROI of PPC

What is Trada?

Trada is the first (only) paid-search marketplace where agencies and direct advertisers can

leverage the expertise of hundreds of skilled PPC experts, who work collaboratively and

competitively to build and optimize sophisticated PPC campaigns. Everyone works

on a pay-for-performance system earning money by generating low-cost clicks and

conversions for advertisers.

Page 34: ROI of PPC

Join Trada As an Expert

-Earn money risk free, working when you want and where you want-You don’t have to find or manage your own clients-Choose the types of campaigns you want to work on.-Join a community of PPC experts

Page 35: ROI of PPC

Where to Find Us

Trada.com Trada.com/blog @Trada

Page 36: ROI of PPC

Trada will send a copy of the presentation and a recorded webinar this week

Page 37: ROI of PPC

Specific Questions?

Elaine EllisMarketing ManagerEmail me at [email protected]

Bill AdkinsVP of SalesEmail me at [email protected]

http://trada.com http://trada.com/blog @trada