unleash your inner publisher - paul gillin's bma chicago presentation 6/1/11

80
Twitter: @pgillin Unleash Your Inner Publisher Paul Gillin Author: The New Influencers Secrets of Social Media Marketing Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Upload: paul-gillin

Post on 09-May-2015

2.144 views

Category:

Design


0 download

DESCRIPTION

The Internet gives us the capacity to publish and widely disperse our best thinking and to become thought leaders in our markets. So why don't more business marketers seize this opportunity? Very often it's because they feel uncertain about their ability, or their company's ability, to produce engaging and interesting content. But it's not as difficult as it may seem. With planning and a little creativity, b-to-b marketers can create content that inspires response and generates action. Learn the tricks professional publishers use and how to apply them.

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Unleash Your Inner Publisher

Paul Gillin

Author:

The New Influencers

Secrets of Social Media Marketing

Social Marketing to the Business Customer

Page 2: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 2

The Media in Collapse

2001 2009 Change

Woman’s Day 1.61M 410,000 -74%

Redbook 556,300 154,600 -72%

Playboy 522,800 203,200 -71%

Country Living 380,200 134,900 -64%

Nati Enquirer 1.65M 591,300 -64%

Reader’s Digest 750,000 270,000 -64%

ESPN Magazine 54,350 25,200 -63%

US Magazine Circulation

Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57

Reduction in US newsroom staffs since 2001: 45%

Growth in NBC prime time audience, 2008: -14.3%

Age of average network evening news viewer: 63

Page 3: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 3

Facebook is the fastest growing consumer product in history

93% of B2B buyers use search to begin the buying process

Direct-mail spending is expected to decline nearly 40% by 2014

80% of IT decision-makers say word of mouth is their most important source when making buying decisions

Google Processes 38,000 search queries every second

YouTube accepts 37 hours of new video every minute

New Media Facts

Survey of 105 Marketers, April, 2010

Page 4: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

MarathoMarathon n

schedule schedule http://bithttp://bit.ly/waCM.ly/waCM

cc

Shared bread Shared bread pudding w/ pudding w/

@skydiver at @skydiver at Mother's. My life Mother's. My life is now complete.is now complete.

How to How to Write a 1 Write a 1 Minute Minute Video Video

Marketing Marketing Script Script

http://ow.ly/http://ow.ly/17xJE17xJE

I'm at Palm Beach I'm at Palm Beach International International

Airport (PBI, West Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach). Palm Beach).

http://4sq.com/4Gehttp://4sq.com/4GeLz0Lz0

Best press Best press photos of photos of

2009 2009 http://om.lhttp://om.l

y/fNhWy/fNhW

I can't find I can't find my good my good

black pants.black pants.

Comparing Top Comparing Top Chef Masters Chef Masters Restaurants Restaurants

#topchef #topchef http://is.gd/8q4hhttp://is.gd/8q4h

NN

How To Get Well How To Get Well Prepared For The Prepared For The Website Creation. Website Creation. http://bit.ly/aTitVChttp://bit.ly/aTitVC

I'm at Palm Beach I'm at Palm Beach International International

Airport (PBI, West Airport (PBI, West Palm Beach). Palm Beach).

http://4sq.com/4Gehttp://4sq.com/4GeLz0Lz0

Comparing Top Comparing Top Chef Masters Chef Masters Restaurants Restaurants

#topchef #topchef http://is.gd/8q4hhttp://is.gd/8q4h

NN

The New Media Landscape

Page 5: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

5

Page 6: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 6

If You’re Not Helping, They’re Not Listening

Page 7: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 7

Mainstays of Social Media

BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010

Page 8: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 8

• Value-drive decision-making

• Group consensus

• “Bet the business”

• Long-term relationships

• Audience is knowledgeable, engaged, serious

• Intense need for information

How is B2B Different?

Page 9: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 9

“In supply chain, laughter really is the best medicine.”

-Kirsten Watson, director of corporate marketing.

An Integrated Approach

Kinaxis’ Supply Chain

Expert Community

Page 10: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 10

An Integrated Approach

Page 11: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 11

Demonstrate Authority

Today, you can take your message directly to your constituents without relying upon media intermediaries

And why would you not want to do that?

Page 12: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 12

Planning is Essential

Tool Wk. 37 Wk. 38 Wk. 39 Wk. 40 Wk. 41

Blog Topic Topic Topic Topic Topic

Newsletter Topic

Video Topic

White Paper

Topic

Webcast Topic Topic

Podcast Topic Topic

Chat Topic Topic

Press Release

Topic Topic Topic

Color coding denotes responsible departments/people

Page 13: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 13

Stagger Activities

White Paper Promotion Timeline

Task Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec

Home page link

E-mail newsletter

E-mail blast

Blog promotion

Twitter messaging

Page 14: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 14

Look for Impact

Page 15: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

What Should Be Our Social Media Strategy?

Page 16: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Well, Do You Have a…

Hammer strategy?Plumbing strategyLandscaping strategy?Copier strategy?Stapler strategy?

Social Media are just a bunch of tools, and tools are useless unless you have a specific need for them.

Page 17: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 17

Customer

Prospect

Quality Contact

SalesLead

Impression

Case study | Video testimonialGuided tour | Product demoWebinar | Press coverageGlossary | ROI calculator

Free trial/ConsultationHelp desk | Chat | ForumTraining | Usage tips Contact information

White paper | eBookAnalyst report | PublicationBlog | Article | Tweet | Podcast

Source: NowSpeed Marketing, Inc.

Tools for the Funnel

Page 18: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

A Four-Step Process

Business Goal

Measurement Tactics Tools

Increase Sales Generate Leads Improve

Awareness Create Thought

Leadership Launch Product Counter Negative

Perception Test Ideas Create Channels Reduce Support

Costs

Leads Media Mentions Speaking Opps Positive Sentiment Net Promoter

Score Customer

Satisfaction Share of Market Service Calls Time to Market Channel Sales

Contact More Prospects

Media Relations Educate

Customers Meet Prospective

Channel Partners Publicize

Reference Accts Move Customer

Service Online Form Trade

Association Advertise

Blog Hire PR Agency Join Trade Groups Video Podcasts Customer Self-

Service Site SEO TV Advertising Newsletter Hire Speaker

Bureau Facebook Fan

Page Online Customer

Community

Using Tools Without Strategy is Like Buying a Hammer and Looking for Nails to Hit With It. Use This Process

Review and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and ReviseReview and Revise

Page 19: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

B2B Blogging

Page 20: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

What Are Blogs Good For?

• Timely, frequently updated information• Multiple media types• Single voice• Fixed display• Flexible organization• Search engine performance

Page 21: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Just One Guy

Estimated monthly visitors: 73,000

Google Indexed pages: 5,970

Alexa ranking: Top .15%

Linking domains: 13,085

Twitter followers: 7,336

New York Times citations: 338

Computerworld citations: 360

InformationWeek citations: 169

Newsletter subscribers: 150,000

Page 22: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Link Love

Page 23: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Uses in Business

ReinforceBrand

Page 24: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Uses in Business

Thought Leadership

Page 25: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Uses in Business

End Run Media

Page 26: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Uses in Business

Define Culture

Page 27: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Educate Prospects

Uses in Business

Page 28: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Uses in Business

Build Trust

Page 29: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 29

Lead Gen Excellence

73 blogs

17 bloggers

600% jump in leads

Top quality

“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”

Rick Short, Marcom Director

Page 30: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Headline

Title/Subtitle

Subheads

Fixed pages

RSS feed

Search

Invitation to subscribe

Page 31: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

B2B SEO

insurance

directors and officers insurance

directors and officers insurance maine

time

sear

ch v

olum

e

Focus on Long Tail Keywords. Source: Eric SchwartzmanTwitter: @pgillin

Page 32: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Choose keywords that are “just right”

• Don’t target keywords that are “too hot” (they multiple meanings or are poor matches for your site)

• Avoid keywords that are “too cold”—too few searchers look for them

• Use the language the searcher uses: An Italian tour operator targets “milano tours” but Americans say “milan tours”

• Walmart calls them “associates,” but everyone else calls them “employees.”

• A computer maker thinks “notebook” sounds classier than “laptop,” but customers don’t.

• Someone looking for “lodging” seeks something different than someone searching for “hotel.”

32

Source: Mike Moran

Twitter: @pgillin

Page 33: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillinSource: HubSpot 2011 State of Inbound Marketing Study

Twitter: @pgillin

Frequency Counts

Page 34: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Inbound Links Are the Secret Sauce

Source: Eric SchwartzmanTwitter: @pgillin

Page 35: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Blogging Success Factors

Have a clear focus Update frequently Speak distinctively Have a point of view Surprise and delight Link to get links Use all the media you can Educate and assist Ask for feedback

Encourage and respond to commentsComment elsewherePlay reporterSerializeUse themesGive stuff awayComplement with photos, podcasts & video

Page 36: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Ready to Create

Page 37: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

What’s Your Topic?

People have abundant choice; pick your spots

It’s fine to stray from your core topic, but keep 2/3 of entries relevant

Dedicate yourself to becoming THE expert in your chosen area

Tell people where you specialize

Branding

Search

Health Care

Customer Care

Analytics

Technology

Strategy

Page 38: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Tricks Of The Trade

• Encourage and respond to comments• Comment elsewhere• Play reporter• Serialize• Use themes• Give stuff away• Complement with photos, podcasts & video

Page 39: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Know Your Reader

Professional? Enthusiast? Peer? Novice? Investor? Competitor? Media?

You can’t communicate effectively with an audience you don’t know. When you write, visualize your reader.

It may help to post a picture of that person on your office wall!

Page 40: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Find Your Voice

• Read mainstream media and other bloggers and comment upon them

• Frame issues in a context that reflects your expertise• Be offbeat and occasionally outrageous• Write in a voice that feels right to you• Think conversation, not lecture• Use multiple media• Mix it up: Top 10 lists, predictions, best & worst, lists

Page 41: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Write in Pictures

Instead Of…

Released

Flew

Cut

Mistake

Tall

Experienced

New

Fell

“All day every day, objects with the proportions of hewn firewood and the heft of cinder blocks hurtle along a conveyor, dive into a steel chute, disappear down a black hole — and emit what sounds like a startled scream.”

From a WSJ story about the declining popularity of Grape

Nuts cereal:

How About…

Unleashed

Soared

Slashed

Blunder

Lanky

Grizzled

Fresh

Plummeted

Page 42: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Generating Ideas

Page 43: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 43

Feed Reader is a Topical Newswire

Consolidate Feeds by Topic to Monitor

Markets of Interest

@pgillin

Page 44: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 44

Trending Topics

InfoSec Island Tag Cloud

TechMeme

TechCrunch Enterprise

Google Insights for Search

Social Tools Can Help You Choose Topics for Your Communications

@pgillin

Page 45: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Other Idea Foundries

Get angry Aggregate other opinions Tell a story Conduct a poll Make a list Predict something, then defend Recommend what you love Discover and share Serialize

Imagine having written a great article

Use keyword searches Interview someone Visit a quote site Talk to children Consult a notebook Write case studies Write about your week Create a top 10 list

Page 46: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Making Your Point

Page 47: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Focus, Focus, Focus

Ask yourself, “What’s the post about?”

Say what you’re going to say, say it, then say what you just said.

Make your point at the outset

Limit the number of points you make in each entry

Invite feedback

Rule of Thumb: If you have more than two key points, create a new entry

Page 48: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Secrets of Clear Writing

Use everyday words Write as you speak Write it like a letter Keep sentences short Use voice recognition or

dictate into a recorder Use Word readability stats Ask a friend/spouse/ child to

review your work

“I didn't have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a

long one instead.”--Blaise Pascal

Page 49: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Get Angry

And that doesn’t mean flaming or name-calling.Use anger to get the creative juices flowing and stimulate

creative prose.

The Baltimore Sun's John McIntyre condemning restroom devices that periodically emit a spritz of perfume:

"It does nothing to cancel out the underlying smell of the premises, merely adding one offensive aroma atop another. It’s rather as if someone went to the zoo and spritzed the bonobos with Dollar Store perfume."

Page 50: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Approaches to An Article About Engagement

Quiz: Test Your Engagement IQ Skeptic: Why Marketers Fail at Engagement Case Study: How One Company Does it Right Contrarian: Think You’re Engaged? Think Again How To: Five Steps to Improving Customer Engagement First Person: How I Learned to Engage Comparison: How Two Companies Approach Customer

Engagement Q&A: Five Common Questions About Engagement Data: Study Shines New Light on Customer Engagement Outrageous: Your Engagement Strategy Sucks Humorous: Engagement Haiku Offbeat: Engagement: The Movie

Page 51: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Provide Context

“There are between four and a half million and five million Muslims in the United States. That’s about twice as many Muslims as Episcopalians.”

John McIntyre, You Don’t Say

“A competency hearing for fifth-grade teacher Lucienne Mohammed, “is likely to take between forty and forty-five hearing days—eight times as long as the average criminal trial in the United States.”

Steven Brill, The Rubber Room, The New Yorker

“It is projected that the amount of digital information that will be created in 2010 could fill 75 billion fully-loaded 16 GB Apple iPads.”

Wikibon, Information Explosion & Cloud Storage

Page 52: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Have Some Fun!

OK Labs uses "social objects," or distinct icons, to create a memorable association.

“It’s been a way for people to feel that they know the company before doing

business with the company,” says Marti Konstant, VP of marketing

Page 53: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Write Provocative Headlines

Current: Let’s Get Engaged!

Other Possibilities:• Five Goals for Customer Engagement• Redefining Engagement• Engagement Scorecard• How Engaged Are Your Customers?• Why Marketers Fail at Engagement• Failing to Engage? Here’s Why

Page 54: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Write Provocative Headlines

“Control Heating and Cooling Costs Remotely From Computer or Smartphone”-3M press release

How About…“Home too Cold? Let Your Smart Phone Be the Thermostat”“Brrrring it On! Smart Phones = Warm Hearts and Homes”

Walmart Latin America Announces "Sustainagility" as Key to Efficient and Profitable Growth

-Walmart press releaseHow About…

What’s “Sustainagility?” Walmart Latin America Says It’s the FutureEver Hear of “Sustainagility?” You Will.

Page 55: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

I Just Can’t Get Started

Start in the middle Write freeform, then edit Imagine a different scene Start listing bullet points Model someone else’s work Take a walk Tell story to a friend or

colleague

Page 56: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Being Visible

Link internally Link externally Use tags, categories Register with aggregators Ask for “link love” Promote outbound links File a site map Bookmark and tweet

Page 57: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Video/Multimedia

Page 58: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

What Is The Video For?

Win new customers Upsell existing

customers Education Company profile Product

demonstration Testimonials Event

Source: GPS PR & Website Design

Page 59: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Storyboard and Create A Shot List

Before you start filming, think about what shots you need. This can be as simple as:

• An interview with the business owner• Your product in action• Ask five customers the same question

Source: GPS PR & Website Design

Page 60: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Light And Sound

You don’t need fancy lights but turn on ALLavailable light at your venue.

• Film interviews with person facing TOWARDS a window so that the light hits their face.

• For interviews: get away from noise sources, like crowds, machines or outdoor noises like water or traffic.

• Always speak loudly.

Page 61: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Editing

• You can do this yourself with tools like iMovie or Adobe Premiere but it is time-consuming.

• We recommend delegating this task to experts. • Shorter videos are better: web videos should ideally be less

than 2 minutes long

Page 62: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Learn Lots More

Page 63: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Promotion & Measurement

Page 64: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Promote Everywhere

Use Every Available Channel to Promote

Page 65: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Publish Everywhere

60 million members600 million

members

200 million members

2 billion daily views

20 million daily visitors

100 million members

10 million members

1 million daily visitors

1.5 million daily visitors

Page 66: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Republish What You’ve Got

Page 67: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

New Publishing Lifecycle

Begins as a tweet

Becomes a blog entry

Feeds a podcast

Stokes a white paper

That gets tweeted!

Page 68: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 68

These are NOT ROI

Website Visitors

Click-throughs

Store visits

Press coverage

“Buzz”

Employment applications

Retweets

FaceBook friends

Blog comments

Video views

Twitter followers

Impressions

Friends

Coupons distributed

But if you can quantify their financial impact, you have ROI!

Page 69: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 69

Basic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin

Conversion Rate = New Customers/ Visits or Leads

Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value

Page 70: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 70

OK, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Curly spends $10,000/year with you

Curly is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Curly is($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

Page 71: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 71

Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors

10,000

Conversion Rate

.5%

Lifetime Value $5,000

Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000

Value of a Visitor

$25

Page 72: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 72

Value of a Blog

Monthly Search Traffic 3,000

Estimated Traffic w/Blog 4,000

Value of a Visitor $25

Monthly Value of a Blog $25,000

Monthly Blog Expense $6,000

ROI ($25,000-$6,000)/$6,000

316%

Page 73: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 73

Value of Twitter

You send 50 tweets a month… Generating 1,000 visitors to your

website… 2% of whom become leads… 5% of whom become customers.

Therefore, the value of a tweet is:

(1,000 * .02 * .05 * 5000)/50 = $100

Page 74: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 74

How Emerson Has Done It

Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin

Page 75: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Strategy - Expand Digital Footprint

Pictures

Presentations Videos

Podcasts

Source: Jim Cahill

Page 76: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Blog Has Made Emerson Experts Findable

Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin

Page 77: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Emerson People And Brands In Twitter

Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin

Page 78: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Twitter for Tuning In to Themes

Source: Jim CahillTwitter: @pgillin

Page 79: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Page 79

And the Leads Come In

“I have an e-mail on my wall from a company that asked us to bid on a nine-figure deal next to a sign that asks ‘Is there any value in blogging?’”

Jim CahillBlogger, Dir. Of Social Media

Emerson Process Experts

Twitter: @pgillin

Page 80: Unleash Your Inner Publisher - Paul Gillin's BMA Chicago Presentation 6/1/11

Twitter: @pgillin

Thank You!

Paul Gillin

508-656-0734

[email protected]

Site: gillin.com

Blog: paulgillin.com

Twitter: pgillin

Free bi-weekly newsletter;

sign up at gillin.com