2015 05-29 how to win arguments with web perf data

Post on 18-Aug-2015

66 Views

Category:

Internet

0 Downloads

Preview:

Click to see full reader

TRANSCRIPT

How to win argumentsWith web performance data

Buddy Brewer@bbrewer

I’m a salesman.

WARNING

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

“There is no doubt about precisely when folks began racing each other in automobiles. It was the day they built the second automobile.”

Richard Petty

May 29, 2015

http://www.webpagetest.org/video/

May 29, 2015

May 29, 2015

http://www.webpagetest.org/video/

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Average case: 6 pagesBest case: 8 pages

Visits: 100MeCPM: $10

Median load time: 4.0 secBest case: 3.3 sec

(8 pages - 6 pages) * 100M * 4 ads / 1K * $10 CPM = $8M

700 ms = $8M

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

Current Conversion Rate: 2.7% Current Page Load Time: 3.0 sec

Visits: 25M AOV: $100

4.12 sec 2.7%

3.0 sec 4.9%

(4.9% - 2.7%) * 25M * $100 = $54M

1 sec = $54M

$

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

May 29, 2015

44% Consumers say slow transactions make them

anxious about transaction success.

May 29, 2015

51% Consumers say slowness is the top reason they would

abandon a purchase online.

May 29, 2015

http://blog.radware.com/applicationdelivery/applicationaccelerationoptimization/2014/01/55-web-performance-stats-youll-want-to-know/

May 29, 2015

1.Engage competitive nature

2.Estimate ROI: Carrot version

3.Estimate ROI: Stick version

4.Show impact to brand

5.Leverage outside “expert” influences

See SOASTA at booth #801

top related