sempo atlanta keyote - eric enge: search and your marketing mix - given 9/14/12

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A view into the marketing mix of today and how branding and advertising has transitioned from traditional media. I gave this presentation at SEMPO Atlanta on 9/14/12.

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Search and Your Marketing Mix

First Off... Who Am I?

Co-author: The Art of SEO President: Stone Temple Consulting

25+ person SEO and PPC firm Trainer: Instant E-Training Founder: Web Site Publishing Companies

Publish web sites, grow them, then sell them2 significant exits so far

Twitter: @stonetemple Google Plus: +Eric Enge

@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Part 1

Marketing Media

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Influence of Media on Decisions

Source: Fleishman-Hilliard

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Selected Data on Media Consumption

Source: Fleishman-Hilliard

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TV / Print / Radio

About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Long established Cost / ROI Models

Comfortable for traditional marketers Immediate action is not an option

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Example Display Ad

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Online Display Advertising

About branding Creates impressions Controlled Messaging Emerging Cost / ROI Models

Comfortable for traditional marketers Similar return model to TV/Print/Radio

Immediate action is an option But, “Interruption Mode”

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Classic Marketing Rule of Thumb

7 impressions per sale

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And What About Search?

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Are You In Control of the Message?

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Do You Interrupt The User?

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No, The User Must Do 3 Things

11 12 13

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Search Step 1 – Go to a Search Engine

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Search Step 2 – Enter a Query

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Search Step 3 – Click on a Result

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Where is Search in the Conversion Funnel?

SearchInvolvedAt EveryStage

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Marketing Campaigns

Awareness

Interest

Evaluation

Commitment

ReferralRepeat

Search Always Starts With a Need

• I need:– Information– A product– A service– To be entertained

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Push vs. Pull

MY BENEFITS!

MY NEED!

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Harvesting Demand

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TV, Print, Radio

TraditionalOutlets

HarvestDemand

Create Demand

Generic Demand

Internet

DiaperDry baby

Crying babyI need sleep

Why Are Facebook Shares Down?

$38.00

$19.00

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Facebook Continued

But Facebook offers all this amazing targeting, right?

Yes, but it is a display ad network It is interruption based advertising

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Ads on my Wall

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Part 2

SEO vs PPC

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Natural vs. Paid

25

NaturalNatural PaidPaid

PaidPaid

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PPC and SEO are Synergistic

Source: Brad Geddes on Search Engine Land

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Observation

73% of clicks went to SEO One high volume keyword was used Similar data obtained in other tests

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Paid Vs. Organic Click Volume

22%PPC

78%Organic

2010 DataPPC ShareGrowingOver Time

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Paid vs. Organic Click Volume

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Keywords yourank for in

Organic Search

KeywordsYou Bid on75%

Of clicks

25%Of clicks

100%Of clicks

All Relevant Keywords

Organic Ranking

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KeywordResearch

CreatePages

Black BoxAlgo

Rank for terms as

determined by Algo

Paid Ranking

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KeywordResearch

AdWordsAccount

Rank for terms largely defined

by you

HistoricalCTR

+Keyword &

Landing Page Relevance

+Landing Page

Relevance+

Other

Quality Score

Max Bid

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Part 3

Justifying SEO

SEO Ranking Timeline

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Create a new page

Black BoxAlgo

6moslater

Maybe rankFor something

• Classic SEO Sales Pitch

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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits

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1.I don’t know what we are going to do yet

2.I don’t know when you are going to see benefits

3.I don’t know how large the benefits will be

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Sign here, $10,000 a month!

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Google AdWords Keyword Tool

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Bing Webmaster Tools

Real Numbersfor searchesat Bing.com!

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Wordtracker

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Coming Up with a Total

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Calculating Search Potential

(Data fromAhrefs.com)

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Do The Math!

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Alternate Method

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Not doing SEO? You’re Leaving Money on the Table

• Calculate the missed opportunity cost of not ranking well for products & services that you offer?

47

# of people searching for your keywords x

engine share (Google = 70%) x

expected click-through rate

average conversion rate

average transaction amountx x

E.g.10,000/day x 70% x 10% x 5% x $100 = $3,500/day

searchengineland.com/selling-the-benefits-of-seo-in-a-large-enterprise-36189

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Show Competitors Winning

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Part 4

Justifying Paid Search

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Setup An Account Today and …

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Get Traffic Today

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Margin in Competitive DR Markets

Have to combat this with active optimizationSet it and forget it does not work

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@stonetemple / + Eric Enge

Calculating ROI

Expense Happens TodayRevenue May Happen Over Time

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Thank You!

Eric Engeeenge@stonetemple.com@stonetemple+ Eric Enge(508) 485-7751www.stonetemple.com

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