making sense of online recruitment

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Making Sense of Online Recruitment: How to Track Results and Make the Most of Your Budget

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Making Sense of Online Recruitment: How to Track Results and Make the Most of Your Budget

Before We Get Started

Jason Whitman

[email protected]

www.indeed.com/me/jasonwhitman

203-564-2420

What is Indeed?

Many companies are:

• Not tracking the source of their candidates

• Not measuring ROI

• Not optimizing recruitment

ad campaigns

We Have a Big Problem

How do you determine the source of candidates that apply

to your jobs online?

Poll Question #1

The Four A’s of Recruitment Advertising

1. Assign

2. Automate

3. Analyze

4. Adjust

The Solution

• Make candidate source tracking a priority

• Assign someone to measure ROI

• Think like a CFO!

• Don’t just rely on HRIS/ATS admins

Step 1: Assign

Step 2: Automate

88.6%

83%

Applicant Self-Select Doesn’t Work!

• Sources are often:

– Omitted

– Too numerous

– Expired

• Applicants may:

– Not be careful

– Pick the wrong source on purpose

– Not know, as they came via multiple sites

Why Applicant Self-Select is Broken

Applicant Self-select Challenges

More than 3,700

sources listed in this

company’s ATS!

Track applicant source automatically!

What is The Solution?

Automated Source Tracking

Two methods:

• URL parameter

• Beacon

Tracking with URL Parameter

http://www.myjobs.com/job.php?id=123&src=Indeed

• Used by applicant tracking systems

• Tracks specific applications, interviews, offers and hires

Tracking with URL Parameter

Taleo Enterprise Edition

BrassRing

iCIMS

Tracking with Beacon

• Redirect URL sets a cookie to track user

• Used by ad agencies, job distributors, Web analytics

providers

• Tracks aggregate applications, and sometimes hires

Tracking with Beacon

Tracking URL Job Description

or Apply Form

Apply

Confirmation

Reporting System

DoubleClick, BlueStreak, Atlas, EyeBlaster

cookie

beacon

How often do you review the performance of your online

recruitment sources?

Poll Question #2

• Measure:

– # applications

– # interviews

– # hires

• Determine:

– Cost per applicant (CPA)

– Cost per hire (CPH)

Step 3: Analyze

• Cost per applicant (CPA):

– Total outside cost / number of applicants

– Example: $5,000 / 750 applicants = $6.67

• Cost per hire (CPH):

– Total outside cost / number of hires

– Example: $5,000 / 6 hires = $833

Step 3: Analyze

Cost per Hire Example

$0 $500 $1,000 $1,500 $2,000 $2,500 $3,000

Job Board 1

Job Board 2

Search Engine 1

Search Engine 2

Social Network

Recruiters

• Once you’ve done your analysis…

– Communicate underperformance

– Optimize where you can

– Shift budget to what’s working best

– Try new things and keep tracking

Step 4: Adjust

SEM for Recruitment

• SEM = Search Engine Marketing

• Exclusively pay per click

• Good for maximizing advertising ROI

• Types:

– Keyword advertising

– Sponsored jobs

• Keyword advertising setup:

– Pick keywords

– Write ad copy

– Choose landing page

– Specify maximum cost per click

• Ads will only be displayed when a user searches using

selected keywords

• Only charged when the ad is clicked on

SEM for Recruitment

SEM for Recruitment

• Pay-per-click sponsored jobs setup:

– Specify maximum cost per click

– Specify monthly budget

– No keyword lists, landing pages or creative needed!

• Each job is only shown as sponsored when it matches a

user’s search

• Only charged when a job is clicked on

• Linking direct to jobs means better conversions

The Four A’s of Recruitment Advertising

1. Assign

2. Automate

3. Analyze

4. Adjust

The Solution

Be a Part of the Solution

X

Case Studies

http://ads.indeed.com/case-study

Questions?

Jason Whitman

[email protected]

www.indeed.com/me/jasonwhitman

203-564-2420

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• blog.indeed.com

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• facebook.com/indeedjobs