simon melaniphy business mania bournemouth university talk 171110

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Simon Melaniphy [email protected] www.refreshedmedia.com Twitter.com/SimonMelaniphy Twitter.com/Refreshed_Media linkedin.com/in/SimonMelaniphy

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Refreshed Media Managing Director Simon Melaniphy gave a 1 hour talk to students at Bournemouth University's Business Mania Group on setting up and growing Refreshed

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Page 1: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Simon Melaniphy

[email protected]

Twitter.com/SimonMelaniphyTwitter.com/Refreshed_Medialinkedin.com/in/SimonMelaniphy

Page 2: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Today’s Session

1.Who am I and Refreshed Media?

2.What’s it like to run a business?

3.What makes success?

4.What helped make Refreshed

5.Your questions

Page 3: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge Group

• 36 year old founding director & MD Refreshed Media

• GCSE business studies & A-level • BSc Software Engineering

• Businesses• pinboards // promo company• run club nights• DJ agency• headphone boosters• Impact Internet Services• Refreshed Media

Simon Melaniphy

Page 4: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

About Refreshed Media…

A full service marketing group with big digital ideas

• Established since 2003 as a full service digital agency

• Local and national cross-sector client base

• Multi-award winning

• Strategic marketing, planning plus all the digital, media and

traditional tactical skills to make it happen

• Highly competent IA, UX, creative and development resource

Focused on traffic generation and lead & sales conversion

• Google Adwords Certified Partner

• Test and measure to improve your website conversion rate

• Google Analytics qualified consultancy

Page 5: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge Group

Refreshed Media is proud to be a key part of Emerge Group:

•One of the UK’s top 50 independent communication groups

•Delivering an integrated offering:• strategic marketing • digital • “traditional” marketing, advertising and print• media planning and buying

•Over 100 staff in Bournemouth, Reigate, Manchester & Edinburgh

•A financially sound group turning over £25m & holding no debt

Emerge Group

Page 6: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

We’ve worked with clients from…We’ve worked with clients from…

Page 7: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Comet – Tweet The Parcel Game

Page 8: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Comet – Tweety Uppy World Cup Game

Page 9: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

BBC Radio 1 Interactive Video Campaign

Page 10: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Complete Cruise Solution

Page 11: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Meetdraw

Page 12: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Welcome to our World;Examples of our Work

Global Entrepreneurship

Week

Page 13: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupGlobal Entrepreneurship Week

Page 14: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Welcome to our World;Examples of our WorkWhat’s it like to run

a business?

Page 15: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupWhat’s it like to run a business?

Page 16: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Welcome to our World;Examples of our WorkWhat makes

success?

Page 17: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupWhat 4 qualities helped these people achieve?

Vision

Belief

Determination

Passion

Page 18: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupStart with the end in mind

…but enjoy the journey…and celebrate!

Page 19: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge Group

Product specialist

The Team – !!!!!!!! MASSIVELY IMPORTANT !!!!!!!!

Sales / Marketing /

Account Management

Accounting & administration

Leadership & vision

Page 20: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Learning

“Delayed gratification”

Page 21: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Learning

• From technician to entrepreneur

• Build systems

Page 22: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Learning

• “There is always a way if you’re committed”

• “The path to success is to take massive, determined action”

• “Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach”

• “Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible”

• “Passion is the genesis of genius”

• Watch for plateaus

Page 23: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep learning

Page 24: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Learning

Page 25: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Learning…from a mentor?

Page 26: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupGrow your network

Page 27: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupYou don’t need money (well perhaps a little!)

Page 28: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Welcome to our World;Examples of our WorkThings that helped

make Refreshed

Page 29: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge Group

• Do what you love and what you’re best at….

• Clients love it!

• Makes the hard times easier

Passion!

Page 30: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupLook big from the start!

Page 31: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupFocus!

Page 32: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupGreat Team!

Page 33: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupSales & Marketing!

Page 34: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupGood accounting and forecasting!

Page 35: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupWork hard!

Page 36: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge GroupKeep Developing...

Page 37: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Website Conversion Definition

“A desired action taken by a website visitor”

Types of conversion?

•E-commerce sale

•Completed enquiry form

•Newsletter signup

•Software download

•Membership signup

•Free trial signup

Page 38: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

What Is A Conversion Rate?

Goal achievements

________________________ x 100

Website visitors

e.g. 200 conversions

_______________ = 2% conversion rate

10,000 visitors

Page 39: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

What Conversion Rate Should I Expect?

•Varies significantly

•E-commerce sales = 0.5% to 8%

•B2C typically 1% to 2%, best in class = 5%

•Retail financial services typically 1% to 2%

•Free subscriptions to paid subscribers = 1% to 7%Stats courtesy of Fireclick.com

•What do you NEED it to be to generate a positive ROI?

Page 40: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Return On Investment

Example, if a conversion = a sale @ £100 & PPC average CPC of 50p

Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate RevenueSearch Engine Marketing £15,000 30,000 450 1.50% £45,000

Option 1 = Increase SEM Investment (£2k):

Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate RevenueSearch Engine Marketing £17,000 34,000 510 1.50% £51,000

Option 2 = Invest in CRO

Monthly Investment Visits Conversions Conv. Rate RevenueSearch Engine Marketing £15,000 30000 750 2.50% £75,000Conversion Rate Optimisation £2,000

Page 41: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Conversion Rate Optimisation

“39% of companies are

dissatisfied with their

website conversion rate”

Econsultancy, 2010

Page 42: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

What is CRO?

The process of measuring, understanding and adapting your website in

order to better suit visitor needs and in order to achieve website objectives.

Visits

CRO: Analysis,

Measurement, Testing

More

conversions /

sales / leads

Page 43: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

CRO Process

Page 44: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Heatmaps

Page 45: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Scroll Analysis

Are visitors reaching the bottom of your pages?

Page 46: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Conversion Rate Optimisation– Split Testing

• One of these designs gained 25% more conversions that the other – which was it??

Page 47: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Case Study: Natural Training

Version 2 = 60% more likely to click, 40% more likely to convert!

• Through GA & user tests identified page which converting visitors usually visited

•Struggled to find call to action

•Tested positioning, designs and language

Page 48: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

CRO: Multivariate Testing

• 9 different versions of this page section...

• A massive 300% difference in conversion results

3 different colour tab versions

3 different text versions

= 9 different page versions

Page 49: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Case Study: National Express

The winning version increase conversion rates by 14%!

Page 50: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Keep Innovating

• CRO has been a good complimentary upsell

• A differentiator / USP to many agencies

• Keeps the conversation with the client about ROI

Page 51: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Welcome to our World;Examples of our WorkSummary

Page 52: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

The Emerge Group

1. Can you do it? Yes! But do you really want it?

2. Keep learning

3. Sales is as important as the product

4. Build the team

5. Keep passionate and enjoying it

The most important bits

Page 53: Simon Melaniphy Business Mania Bournemouth University Talk 171110

Simon Melaniphy

[email protected]

Twitter.com/SimonMelaniphyTwitter.com/Refreshed_Medialinkedin.com/in/SimonMelaniphy

SlideShare.net/RefreshedMedia