how to be an efficient seo

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SEO Summit 2015

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Page 1: How to be an Efficient SEO

SEO Summit 2015

Page 2: How to be an Efficient SEO

I’m Sam Nam VP Marketing at Digital Room Inc.

@samnamiam | samnamiam.com

Hello!

Page 3: How to be an Efficient SEO
Page 4: How to be an Efficient SEO
Page 5: How to be an Efficient SEO

Efficient SEO How to be an

Page 6: How to be an Efficient SEO

Not Intelligent Industrious

Industrious Lazy

Inte

llige

nt

N

ot

Inte

llige

nt

Intelligent Industrious

Not Intelligent Lazy

Intelligent Lazy

Page 7: How to be an Efficient SEO

Give me six hours

to chop down a

tree and I will

spend the first

four sharpening

the axe.

- Abraham Lincoln

Page 8: How to be an Efficient SEO

A sharp axe means less

work… makes sense.

Page 9: How to be an Efficient SEO

A sharp axe means less

work… makes sense.

But How does this relate

to SEO?

Page 10: How to be an Efficient SEO

Not All Ranking Factors

are Created Equal

Page 11: How to be an Efficient SEO

Not All Ranking Factors

are Created Equal

Probably MORE important

Probably LESS Important

Page 12: How to be an Efficient SEO

Not All Keywords are

Created Equal

Page 13: How to be an Efficient SEO

Not All Keywords are

Created Equal

MORE Valuable

LESS Valuable

Page 14: How to be an Efficient SEO

High Value = Sharp Axe

Low Value = Dull Axe

Page 15: How to be an Efficient SEO

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

Page 16: How to be an Efficient SEO

1. Rough idea of how long it will take

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

Page 17: How to be an Efficient SEO

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

1. Rough idea of how long it will take

2. Generate results independent of other

projects

Page 18: How to be an Efficient SEO

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Page 19: How to be an Efficient SEO

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Investment

= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses

Page 20: How to be an Efficient SEO

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Investment

= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses

Return

= increase traffic x per visit value ($)

Page 21: How to be an Efficient SEO

Low-Hanging Fruit

Calculate ROI to Identify

Page 22: How to be an Efficient SEO

Simple ROI Formula

Page 23: How to be an Efficient SEO

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Stack Rank in Excel by ROI

Ordered by ROI Greatest to Least

Page 24: How to be an Efficient SEO

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Calculate ROI in Excel

Page 25: How to be an Efficient SEO

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Calculate ROI in Excel

x

x

x

=

=

=

=

=

=

+

+

+

Page 26: How to be an Efficient SEO

Consistent Growth

Schedule Projects for

Page 27: How to be an Efficient SEO

Little Projects With Short Term Impact Generate Tangible

Results to Satisfy Clients and Business Stakeholders

We

ek

1

We

ek

2

We

ek

3

We

ek

4

We

ek

5

We

ek

6

We

ek

7

We

ek

8

We

ek

9

We

ek

10

We

ek

11

We

ek

12

We

ek

13

We

ek

14

We

ek

15

We

ek

16

We

ek

17

We

ek

18

We

ek

19

We

ek

20

Little Project

Little Project

Big Project

Big Project

Little Project

Little Project

Page 28: How to be an Efficient SEO

METHODOLOGY OVERVIEW

1. Break Opportunities into Bite Sized Projects

2. Try to Quantify Investment and Return

3. Calculate ROI to Identify Low Hanging Fruit

4. Schedule Projects for Consistent Growth

Page 29: How to be an Efficient SEO

Analytic Guesstimate

Page 30: How to be an Efficient SEO

Analytic Guesstimate

verb Combining data with basic

assumptions to calculate an

expected value otherwise

unknown

Page 31: How to be an Efficient SEO

EXAMPLE:

ANALYTIC GUESSTIMATING

FOR “CHEAP STICKERS”

PAGE AND KEYWORDS

Page 32: How to be an Efficient SEO

LOGIN TO SEARCH CONSOLE AND

GO TO SEARH ANALYTICS

Page 33: How to be an Efficient SEO

FILTER FOR QUERIES CONTAINING

KEYWORD PHRASE FOR A PAGE

Page 34: How to be an Efficient SEO

EXPORT CSV FILE OF

SEARCH QUERY DATA TO EXCEL

Page 35: How to be an Efficient SEO

ESTIMATE CTR CURVE USING

LOGARITHMIC TREND LINE IN EXCEL

Page 36: How to be an Efficient SEO

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

Page 37: How to be an Efficient SEO

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

Page 38: How to be an Efficient SEO

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

Page 39: How to be an Efficient SEO

SPEND MORE TIME ON RANKING

FACTORS WITH HIGH CORRELATION

Page 40: How to be an Efficient SEO

EVALUATE AND QUANTIFY

OPTIMIZATION EFFORTS

Page 41: How to be an Efficient SEO

SUMMARIZE

INVESTMENT & RETURN

Investment:

Labor is 11 x $80 = $880

Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500

Page 42: How to be an Efficient SEO

BEFORE OPTIMIZATION

POSITION AND CTR

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

Page 43: How to be an Efficient SEO

GUESSTIMATE +2 POS. FOR FIRST

PAGE KW AND POS 10 FOR OTHERS

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

Page 44: How to be an Efficient SEO

AFTER OPTIMIZATION

POSITION AND CTR

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

Page 45: How to be an Efficient SEO

ESTIMATE IMPROVEMENT

IN TRAFFIC USING CTR CURVE

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

161

Page 46: How to be an Efficient SEO

CONVERT RETURN VALUE INTO

DOLLARS

161 Clicks x 5% Conv. Rate = 8 Conversions

8 Conversions x $200 AOV = $1,600 Sales

$1,600 Sales x 6 Months = $9,600

Page 47: How to be an Efficient SEO

SUMMARIZE

INVESTMENT & RETURN

Investment:

Labor is 11 x $80 = $880

Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500

Return:

$9,600

ROI:

($9,600 - $1,380) / $1,380 = 596%

Page 48: How to be an Efficient SEO

THANK YOU