how to be an efficient seo

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SEO Summit 2015

I’m Sam Nam VP Marketing at Digital Room Inc.

@samnamiam | samnamiam.com

Hello!

Efficient SEO How to be an

Not Intelligent Industrious

Industrious Lazy

Inte

llige

nt

N

ot

Inte

llige

nt

Intelligent Industrious

Not Intelligent Lazy

Intelligent Lazy

Give me six hours

to chop down a

tree and I will

spend the first

four sharpening

the axe.

- Abraham Lincoln

A sharp axe means less

work… makes sense.

A sharp axe means less

work… makes sense.

But How does this relate

to SEO?

Not All Ranking Factors

are Created Equal

Not All Ranking Factors

are Created Equal

Probably MORE important

Probably LESS Important

Not All Keywords are

Created Equal

Not All Keywords are

Created Equal

MORE Valuable

LESS Valuable

High Value = Sharp Axe

Low Value = Dull Axe

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

1. Rough idea of how long it will take

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

Bite-Sized Projects

Break Opportunities Into

1. Rough idea of how long it will take

2. Generate results independent of other

projects

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Investment

= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses

Investment and Return

How To Quantify

Investment

= [man hours x rate] + Misc. Expenses

Return

= increase traffic x per visit value ($)

Low-Hanging Fruit

Calculate ROI to Identify

Simple ROI Formula

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Stack Rank in Excel by ROI

Ordered by ROI Greatest to Least

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Calculate ROI in Excel

Opportunity Type DescriptionDays of

LaborDaily Rate

Labor

Investment

Misc.

Investment

Total

Investment

Est. 6x Month

ReturnROI

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

brochure printing (avg postion 20)

brochure printing services (avg position 21)

print brochures online (avg position 24)

print brochures (avg position 14)

printing brochures (avg position 9.3)

5 $80 $400 $150 $550 $6,700 1118%

Striking Distance

Keyword Group

cheap stickers (avg position 9.8)

cheap sticker printing (avg position 13)5 $80 $400 $50 $450 $4,800 967%

Site Wide

ImprovementImplement SSL security across domain 10 $80 $800 $500 $1,300 $12,800 885%

Keyword Expansion

Group

canvas prints

canvas printiin30 $80 $2,400 $1,000 $3,400 $10,000 194%

Calculate ROI in Excel

x

x

x

=

=

=

=

=

=

+

+

+

Consistent Growth

Schedule Projects for

Little Projects With Short Term Impact Generate Tangible

Results to Satisfy Clients and Business Stakeholders

We

ek

1

We

ek

2

We

ek

3

We

ek

4

We

ek

5

We

ek

6

We

ek

7

We

ek

8

We

ek

9

We

ek

10

We

ek

11

We

ek

12

We

ek

13

We

ek

14

We

ek

15

We

ek

16

We

ek

17

We

ek

18

We

ek

19

We

ek

20

Little Project

Little Project

Big Project

Big Project

Little Project

Little Project

METHODOLOGY OVERVIEW

1. Break Opportunities into Bite Sized Projects

2. Try to Quantify Investment and Return

3. Calculate ROI to Identify Low Hanging Fruit

4. Schedule Projects for Consistent Growth

Analytic Guesstimate

Analytic Guesstimate

verb Combining data with basic

assumptions to calculate an

expected value otherwise

unknown

EXAMPLE:

ANALYTIC GUESSTIMATING

FOR “CHEAP STICKERS”

PAGE AND KEYWORDS

LOGIN TO SEARCH CONSOLE AND

GO TO SEARH ANALYTICS

FILTER FOR QUERIES CONTAINING

KEYWORD PHRASE FOR A PAGE

EXPORT CSV FILE OF

SEARCH QUERY DATA TO EXCEL

ESTIMATE CTR CURVE USING

LOGARITHMIC TREND LINE IN EXCEL

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

COMPARE PAGE RANKING SIGNALS

VS. TOP 5 COMPETITOR PAGES

SPEND MORE TIME ON RANKING

FACTORS WITH HIGH CORRELATION

EVALUATE AND QUANTIFY

OPTIMIZATION EFFORTS

SUMMARIZE

INVESTMENT & RETURN

Investment:

Labor is 11 x $80 = $880

Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500

BEFORE OPTIMIZATION

POSITION AND CTR

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

GUESSTIMATE +2 POS. FOR FIRST

PAGE KW AND POS 10 FOR OTHERS

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

AFTER OPTIMIZATION

POSITION AND CTR

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

ESTIMATE IMPROVEMENT

IN TRAFFIC USING CTR CURVE

74 Clicks Before and 235 Clicks after = 161 More Clicks!

161

CONVERT RETURN VALUE INTO

DOLLARS

161 Clicks x 5% Conv. Rate = 8 Conversions

8 Conversions x $200 AOV = $1,600 Sales

$1,600 Sales x 6 Months = $9,600

SUMMARIZE

INVESTMENT & RETURN

Investment:

Labor is 11 x $80 = $880

Design and Promotion = $250 + $250 = $500

Return:

$9,600

ROI:

($9,600 - $1,380) / $1,380 = 596%

THANK YOU

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