measuring return on investment in international student recruitment

86
Measuring Measuring Return on Investment Return on Investment in International in International Student Recruitment Student Recruitment Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009 Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck Owner and Chief International Education Officer USjournal.com, LLC [email protected]

Upload: keaton

Post on 16-Jan-2016

56 views

Category:

Documents


0 download

DESCRIPTION

Measuring Return on Investment in International Student Recruitment. Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009. Cheryl Darrup-Boychuck Owner and Chief International Education Officer USjournal.com, LLC [email protected]. Brief History of International Student Recruitment. - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

TRANSCRIPT

Page 1: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring Measuring Return on Investment Return on Investment

in International in International Student RecruitmentStudent Recruitment

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Cheryl Darrup-BoychuckOwner and Chief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, [email protected]

Page 2: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Brief History of International Brief History of International Student RecruitmentStudent Recruitment

Then: No need for metricsHow can you possibly measure the value of international students on campus, with dollar signs?

Now: Show me the numbersDeans of Admission have morphed into Vice Presidents of Enrollment Management

Soon: More “stealth applicants”Increasingly, your first contact with a prospective student is their online application.

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 3: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

““International Enrollment International Enrollment Management”Management”

Nurture Connections with• Domestic Admissions• Particular Academic Departments• Alumni and Development Office• Current International Students• Senior International Officers

Identify Recruitment Strategy• Target particular countries and language markets• Incentives for countries not currently represented

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 4: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

““International Enrollment International Enrollment Management”Management”

Resource Management• Manage limited resources• Define metrics and collect data • Analyze the costs and benefits of specific initiatives• Measure Return on Investment

Deliberate and Intentional Approach• Integrated effort to maximize impact

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 5: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

11stst Poll: Poll: Gauging Current ClimateGauging Current Climate

At what stage do you consider your campus, with regard to ROI?

• Advanced (We’ve defined our metrics; we just want to see what peer institutions are doing.)

• Medium (We measure a few initiatives, but have no coordinated plan to evaluate the results.)

• Elementary (We’re struggling with where to begin measuring Return on Investment.)

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 6: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

External Factors Shaping External Factors Shaping International EducationInternational Education

Growth Industry• By 2025, demand will double to 200 million

seats in global higher education• Growth in emerging economies• Proliferation of alternative structures• Higher Education = Globally-traded

Commodity• Price competition will intensify

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 7: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Studying ROI:Studying ROI:Corporate World vs Higher Corporate World vs Higher

EducationEducation

Initial Investment vs Subsequent Profits

Recruiting Expenses vs Profits, where Profits = Tuition

– Cost of Instruction+ Expected Donations

Flaw: Tuition < Cost of Instruction, so Profits are usually negative

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 8: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Studying ROI:Studying ROI:Corporate World vs Higher Corporate World vs Higher

EducationEducation

Business WorldFeedback from market forces

Non-Profit Organizations Driven by missions, not markets

“Delivering on the Promise of Non-Profits”Harvard Business Review, December 2008

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 9: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Reasons for ReluctanceReasons for Reluctance• Inertia; it’s never been done • Fear of revealing weaknesses • Intense focus on immediate results, without regard to the future• “International” marketing is de-centralized on many campuses• Differences with domestic recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 10: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Why Measure ROI?Why Measure ROI?

• Justify expenses

• Compete with domestic admissions

• Compare results with peer institutions

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 11: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

ROI in its Simplest FormROI in its Simplest Form

-- Cost of Recruitment+ Tuition and Fees Generated----------------------------------------- Return on Investment

Page 12: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Online Promotions: Online Promotions: Targeting Specific PopulationsTargeting Specific Populations

Model-- Cost of Advertising + Student(s) Tuition + Student(s) Fees ------------------------------Return on Investment

ESL Program-- $ 1,195 / year+ $ 2,850 / 10-wk session + $ 465 Student Fees ---------------------------------- $ 2,120 = 1st student

$ 15,380 = 5 students

$ 31,955 = 10 students

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 13: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 14: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”

St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 15: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Student:Marketing Cost per Student:Online PromotionOnline Promotion

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,195 for an annual campaign

St = 10 students enrolled

MCPS = $119.50 per student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 16: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion$119.50

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 17: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Engaging Agents: Initial costs Engaging Agents: Initial costs mustmust be greater than zero be greater than zero

-- Cost of Developing a Relationship

-- Commissions Paid+ Student(s) Tuition + Student(s) Fees

-------------------------------------------------------- Return on Investment

Skipping the relationship part may result in very negative

consequences.Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 18: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 19: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Student:Marketing Cost per Student:Engaging AgentsEngaging Agents

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $13,800 over four years

St = 4 students enrolled

MCPS = $3,450 per student / 4 years

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 20: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50Agent $ 862.50

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 21: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 22: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Student:Marketing Cost per Student:Domestic TravelDomestic Travel

MCPS = Emt / St

Emt = $1,200 in one year

St = 20 students enrolled

MCPS = $60 per student

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 23: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

Initiative MCPS

Online Promotion $ 119.50Agent $ 862.50Domestic Travel $ 60.00

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 24: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

$119.50

$862.50

$60.00

$0.00

$100.00

$200.00

$300.00

$400.00

$500.00

$600.00

$700.00

$800.00

$900.00

$1,000.00

Online Promotion Agents Domestic Travel

Page 25: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Marketing Cost per Marketing Cost per StudentStudent

and Revenue per Studentand Revenue per Student

$119.50

$3,195.50

$862.50

$8,510.00

$60.00

$7,089.00

$0.00

$1,000.00

$2,000.00

$3,000.00

$4,000.00

$5,000.00

$6,000.00

$7,000.00

$8,000.00

$9,000.00

Online Promotion Agents Domestic Travel

MCPS Revenue per Student

Page 26: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Cost to Recruit one Cost to Recruit one International Student vs one International Student vs one

Domestic StudentDomestic Student

MCPSi = Emt / St

MCPSd = Emt / St

Emt = Total marketing expense in

time period “t”St = Total students enrolled in

time period “t”Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 27: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Cost to Recruit one Cost to Recruit one International Student vs one International Student vs one

Domestic StudentDomestic Student

10%

Page 28: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI by Student Measuring ROI by Student TypeType

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 29: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

2008 NACAC 2008 NACAC Admission Trends SurveyAdmission Trends Survey

Average cost per enrolled student, based on domestic recruitment

$2,895 = Private institutions

$2,366 = Overall average

$1,002 = Public institutions

Page 30: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

DomesticDomestic Admissions Yield Admissions Yield

Cost

Applicant $ 578.

Admitted $ 836.

Enrolled $2,366.

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 31: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

““Stealth” ApplicantsStealth” Applicants

Students applying without prior contact

Introduced into database as “applicant”

Traditional enrollment funnel dissolving

Accept lack of complete control of your institutional message

Page 32: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 33: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 34: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Online InquiriesOnline Inquiriesand the Impact on ROIand the Impact on ROI

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 35: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Targeted Online Targeted Online CampaignsCampaigns

By GeographyWithin a 20-mile radius of any metro area

By Key Words and Key PhrasesIn targeted languages

By Device Manufacturers and CapabilitiesOnly target iPhones, for example

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 36: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 37: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 38: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 39: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Sample of Key Phrases for Sample of Key Phrases for Google Pay-per-ClickGoogle Pay-per-Click

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 40: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Results in Italian for Results in Italian for Google Pay-per-ClickGoogle Pay-per-Click

Page 41: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Sample of Statistics:Sample of Statistics:Google Pay-per-ClickGoogle Pay-per-Click

Page 42: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Cost per LeadCost per Lead

CPL = TAC / TLG$3.25 = $101 / 31 leads

CPL = Cost per Lead

TAC = Total Advertising Cost

TLG = Total Leads Generated

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 43: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

22ndnd Poll: Poll: Precision Marketing Precision Marketing

TechniquesTechniques

What types of campaigns are you using to generate initial inquiries?

• Pay-per-Click Campaigns (primarily hosted by major search engines)

• Mobile Marketing (via handheld devices)• Directory-type Ads (StudyUSA, Hobsons,

USjournal.com, others)• We don’t pay for leads (Students just find

us organically online, or by word-of-mouth.)

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 44: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Precision Marketing Precision Marketing FactorsFactors

• Internal Analysis• Domestic Admissions’ ROI Equations• Academic Strengths• Availability of Scholarships for Diversity

• Economic Realities• Online Language Populations

Next Step: • Study the habits of target demographic

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 45: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Know ThyselfKnow Thyself

S.W.O.T. Analysis • Strengths • Weaknesses• Opportunities• Threats

Clearly Define Objectives• By citizenship or by geography• By language market• By academic program

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 46: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Economic RealitiesEconomic Realities

Government-Sponsored Scholarships• Iraq (500 students this year, eventually 10,000)

• http://www.nytimes.com/2009/03/22/world/middleeast/22kurds.html

• United Arab Emirates• Abu Dhabi Investment Authority• [email protected]

• Malaysia• Public Service Department• http://www.jpa.gov.my/

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 47: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Precision Marketing | Chair: [email protected]

Page 48: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 49: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 50: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 51: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Mobile MarketingMobile Marketing• 4.1 billion mobile subscriptions

worldwide• Up from one billion in 2002

• Europe• Subscriptions exceed population by 11%

• Developed World• Shared devices

• More than 90% of the global population now has access to mobile phone technology

• How does your .edu domain look on the small screen?

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 52: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Full Screen VersionFull Screen VersionUSjournal.comUSjournal.com

Page 53: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 54: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 55: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

USAcademics.comUSAcademics.com

Page 56: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Case StudyCase Study

Mobile Marketing in Indonesia• Landing Page: USAcademics.com • Campaign ran from 26 Feb to 7 Mar 2009 (10 days)• Apple, Blackberry, Nokia, Palm Devices • 4,244,567 impressions• 10,152 clicks (0.24% click-through rate)• 4 cents per click = $406.08 • 148 actual inquiries • $406.08 / 148 = $2.74 per lead

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 57: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

In the rush to measure… In the rush to measure…

… … any figures will do.any figures will do.

Cost of annual campaign = $6,696.

Number of inquiries = 933So, $6,696 / 933 = $7.18 per inquiry

?

Not accurate.Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 58: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Various CPL Models Various CPL Models

One company (based in India) One company (based in India) charges $20 / qualified leadcharges $20 / qualified lead

How do you define “qualified”?How do you define “qualified”?

Pre-paid postage examplePre-paid postage example

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 59: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Outbound vs InboundOutbound vs InboundMarketingMarketing

Outbound • Cold Calling• Unsolicited eMail• Junk Mail• T.V. Advertising

Inbound• Social Media• Blogging• Search Engine

Placements

Inbound Marketers = 61% lower cost-per-lead (CPL)

Page 60: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Smart PowerSmart Power

Hard Power + Soft Power

• Use data as political currency • Simplify the argument• Create catchy visual representations

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 61: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Quantifiable DataQuantifiable DataRelated to Return on Related to Return on

InvestmentInvestment

• Retention Rate

• Churn Rate

• New Student Gains

• Student Losses

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 62: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Market GrowthMarket Growth

Gm = SI / SL

Gm = % market Growth

SI = Student increase this year

SL = Student increase last year

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 63: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Revenue ContributionRevenue Contribution

Rmi = Ri / ΣRt

Rmi = Revenue contribution for “i”

Ri = Revenue from segment “i”

ΣRt = Revenue from all segments

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 64: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Broader ROI Metrics, Broader ROI Metrics, based on audience based on audience

considerationsconsiderations

Australia’s Access EconomicsInternational Student

Contributions • $1 spent = $1.91 into economy• 120,000 jobs in 2007-08• $13.7 billion in 2007-08

Learning Boom Amid Economic Gloom The Australian, 1 April 2009

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 65: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Comparative ExercisesComparative Exercises

Applicants from Campaign A versus

Applicants from Campaign B

Appropriate for Extenuating Circumstances• Student Visa Variables• Severe Currency Fluctuations

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 66: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Quantifiably ElusiveQuantifiably Elusive Factors Factors in our simplistic ROI Equations in our simplistic ROI Equations

• The Prestige Factor / Name Recognition• Word-of-Mouth Referrals• Diversity Factors• Follow-up Mechanisms • Staff Time• Foreign-born Faculty Members (+,--) • Cost of educating that student

Murketing, rather than MarketingMeasuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 67: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Complexity TheoryComplexity Theory

1. Large numbers of interacting elements

2. Minor changes can produce disproportionately major consequences

3. The whole is greater than the sum of its parts; solutions cannot be imposed

4. Evolution is irreversible5. Hindsight does not lead to foresight

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 68: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Multivariate Likelihood Multivariate Likelihood Function Function

to Predict Customer Behaviorto Predict Customer Behavior

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 69: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Defining theDefining the Investments Investmentsthat are designed to yield that are designed to yield

students students • Travel (Domestic and Overseas)• Agents / Commission-based Options• Online / Print Promotions• Purchasing Mailing Lists (≈30¢ / name)• Financial Aid / Scholarships• Staff Focus on Current Students / Alum • Special Scenarios / Emerging Markets• Long-term Prospects

Measuring ROI in International Recruitment | [email protected]

Page 70: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 71: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 72: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 72

Page 73: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 73

Page 74: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 74

Page 75: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 75

Page 76: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 76

Page 77: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 77

Page 78: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 78

Page 79: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 79

Page 80: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 80

Page 81: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 81

Page 82: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Internationalisering in het HO 82

Page 83: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment
Page 84: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Next StepsNext Steps

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

• Collaborate with Domestic Admissions

Define consistent parameters

• Recognize the complexity of international student recruitment, along with its quantifiably elusive factors• Compare initial investment with revenue generated from that initiative• MCPS = Emt / St

• CPL = TAC / TLG

Page 85: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Better ROI MetricsBetter ROI Metrics

• Decide which metrics are appropriate, and include specific parameters for each

• Establish long-term policies for tracking and reporting

• Always be prepared to present your data, but insist on annual meetings with those who hold the purse strings

Page 86: Measuring  Return on Investment  in International  Student Recruitment

Measuring Measuring Return on Investment Return on Investment

in International in International Student RecruitmentStudent Recruitment

Innovative Educators Webinar, 6 May 2009

Cheryl Darrup-BoychuckChief International Education Officer

USjournal.com, [email protected]